Still Wilde

Product no.: RUF 1037

Release date


Release Notes

THE NIGHTHAWKS 1999: 27 Years
On the verge of celebrating their 27th anniversary, the Maryland-based Nighthawks have teamed up with RUF RECORDS for the release of Still Wild. Still Wild contains 12 songs well-versed in the blues, soul, and rockabilly foundation of the Nighthawks' good-time American music. Powered by the blistering blues harp and 100-proof vocals of founding member MARK WENNER, the album features new originals as well as songs by Willie Dixon "Tiger In Your Tank", Muddy Waters "Read Way Back", Charlie Rich "Washed My Hands" and Merle Kilgore "The Wild One". Guest artists include noted blues artist Jimmy Nalls and James Solberg, who co-produced the album with WENNER.

The Nighthawks' history is extensive, beginning in the '70s when the band criss-crossed the country playing clubs and colleges then dominated by the sounds of country rock and disco. The band spread their version of roots rock, soul, and rockabilly and blues that was hardly the standard fare. In addition The Nighthawks were considered touring pioneers, since only a handful of Chicago blues stars were touring nationally, and the west coast blues bands stayed on their side of the Great Divide.

The Nighthawks continued to perform through-out the country, when in 1986 they performed their hugely successful "Farewell-For-Now-Tour". After long-timer JIM THACKERY departed for a solo career and short-timer GREG WETZEL returned to Nashville, The Nighthawks stopped just long enough to catch their breath. They reformed a few times over the next several years while continuing to tour relentlessly. The first line-up featured Jimmy Hall (lead vocals and saxophone and harp) and Jimmy Nalls (lead guitar and back-up vocals) and lasted through 1990. When those two left, Danny Morris (lead guitar and vocals) and Mike Cowen (keyboards and back-up vocals) joined the group. In 1992, Mike left the group to go to college and at the end of 1994 Danny left to pursue a solo career. Thereafter, PETE KANARAS joined the band in January of 1995 and continues with the band to this date.
Over the years the Nighthawks acquired a reputation as a solid back-up band. The band helped attract great Chicago blues artists to Washington, DC, and gained national respect as the backing band or support act for Muddy Waters, Otis Rush, Big Walter Horton and other legends. In addition, Jan, Pete and Mark went on a series of tours with Elvin Bishop and participated in the Rosebud Agency's blues all-star tours, which combined such illustrious front men as Pinetop Perkins, John Hammond, Charlie Musselwhite and John Lee Hooker. The list of guitarists the band collaborated with reads like a Who's Who of great pickers including Bob Margolin, Steuard Smith, Warren Haynes, James Solberg, Pete Kennedy, Phil Petroff and Ratso.

After 17 previous releases, in the fall of 1995 the band recorded the critically-acclaimed Pain And Paradise, which has been hailed as the strongest Nighthawks studio effort so far. Embellished with producer Steuard Smith's masterful keyboard and guitar work, with backup harmonies by the DC-based Orioles, the CD includes classic blues from Willie Dixon and Little Walter, contemporary blues from Z.Z. Hill, Nighthawks originals and selections from personal friends Terry Garland and Bob "Catfish" Hodge and from songmaster "Rock Steady" Williams. Pain And Paradise was released at the end of May 1996.

Touring and recording for three decades, The Nighthawks have certainly gained cult standing on the east coast where fans, who regard them as "The World's Greatest Bar Band," loyally follow them from show to show and are eagerly anticipating the release of Still Wild.



  1. Tiger In Your Tank
  2. The Wild One
  3. Cry Like A Man
  4. Read Way Back
  5. Guard My Heart
  6. Jump Into My Fire
  7. Nobody But You
  8. I Don't Play
  9. Washed My Hands
  10. That's The Way love Is
  11. Illustrated Man
  12. Slow Dance

Customers who bought this product also bought

Diva La Grande
Feel Me
Try Me
Tell Me

Browse this category: The Nighthawks