The Soul Of The King


The Soul Of The King

Product no.: RUF 1268
17.00


 

Release date: 10th May 2019

 

Long live the King. Four years since the passing of the great B.B. King, his towering influence over the blues world – and beyond – remains undimmed. From the long-standing fans still held spellbound by 1965’s classic Live At The Regal album, to the young guitarists adding a shiver of vibrato to an emotive solo, King’s music will never be forgotten. And this year, the iconic bluesman’s presence is felt stronger than ever, as his spirit imbues a star-studded new album, The Soul Of The King

            The term ‘legend’ doesn’t do justice to B.B. King. The eight-decade story of how a Mississippi cotton-picker rose to the heights of the blues – changing the genre forever with his soul-drenched voice and ‘one-note’ touch – is told by his acclaimed studio catalogue and fabled live shows. Now, as the men who walked alongside him every step of the way for over 35 years, The B.B. King Blues Band write the next chapter, on an album that salutes King’s classic songs and showcases their own. “It’s important,” nods executive producer Terry Harvey, “to continue what he started.”

Boasting several world-class songwriters in their ranks, The Soul Of The King finds the lineup supplying material that stands alongside their late leader’s catalogue. There’s the addictive brass-bolstered shuffle of Low Down. The slow-burn balladry of She’s The One. The spring-heeled funk of Taking Care Of Business, and trumpet legend James ‘Boogaloo’ Bolden’s own Hey There Pretty Woman. Joe Louis Walker gives a soulful hat-tip on Regal Blues – while the King would surely approve of Louisiana gunslinger Kenny Wayne Shepherd’s masterful solo on opener Irene Irene. As Harvey says: “This record is a representation of B.B.’s musical styles and influences, to those who never got to hear or see him live.”          

            In modern times, most musicians shrink from the challenge of covering King’s material, wary of being hopelessly exposed as they strain to capture the soul. But as the King’s faithful sidemen, this band of blues lifers have his music under their fingernails, and during sessions at Hollywood’s Paramount Recording Studios and Houston’s Lucky Run Studios, their performances soared. “After being with B.B. for 35 years,” says Harvey, “this band lives and breathes his music. It has become a part of them.”

Choosing songs from King’s sprawling catalogue could have been an ordeal. But for The Soul Of The King, the lineup made a smart move, letting the A-list guests dictate the material. “As the name artists joined the project,” remembers Harvey, “we picked songs from B.B.’s catalogue that we felt fit their voices. Our approach was not to stray too far from the original, but still to make it fresh. I want the world to remember B.B. and to introduce his music to the youth of today.”

            Mission accomplished, with The Soul Of The King making a bracing return to some of King’s greatest cuts. There’s a heartfelt turn from Michael Lee on The Thrill Is Gone. Mary Griffin and Taj Mahal combine their vocal and guitar talents on Paying The Cost To Be The Boss. Kenny Neal lends poignant vocals and licks to Sweet Little Angel. “Recording with the different artists and the band was an enlightening experience,” reflects Harvey. “Everyone came in prepared, but when Mary Griffin came to record, she came in all bubbly – and nailed her vocals in two takes.”

            They might have an illustrious history, but The Soul Of The King reminds us that The B.B. King Blues Band are a lineup moving forward, writing a love-letter to their fallen leader while staking their own claim in the modern era. “When we started this album, we wanted to let the world know the B.B. King Band is live and well,” explains Harvey. “And that we are continuing B.B.’s musical legacy…”

 

TRACKLIST

001

Irene Irene

00:04:29

002

Sweet Little Angel

00:04:54

003

There Must Be A Better World

00:03:26

 

Somewhere

 

004

Paying The Cost To Be The Boss

00:04:48

005

Low Down

00:04:41

006

She's The One

00:05:26

007

Taking Care Of Business

00:03:17

008

Becoming The Blues

00:05:19

009

Hey There Pretty Woman

00:04:09

010

Here Today, Gone Tomorrow

00:04:02

011

Regal Blues (A Tribute To The

00:05:15

 

King)

 

012

Pocket Full Of Money

00:06:07

013

The Thrill Is Gone

00:03:37

 

Musicians

Russell Jackson

Lead Vocal (1,5,7,8)

Kenny Wayne Shepherd

Guitar (1)

Kenny Neal

Lead Vocals, Guitar Solo (2), Harmonica Solo (8)

Diunna Greenleaf

Lead Vocals (3), Background Vocals (8)

Eric Demmer

Lead Vocals (6), Alto, Saxophone Solo (3,4), Saxophone Solo (6,9), Tenor, Saxophone Solo (7)

Mary Griffin and Taj Mahal

Lead Vocals and Guitar (4)

Lamar Boulet

Trumpet (5), Trumpet Solo (12)

Krik Joseph

Tuba (5)

James “Boogaloo” Bolden & Johns Dell Toro Richarson

Backgroundvocals (7)

Wilbert Crosby

Guitar Solo (7,8,)

James “Boogaloo” Bolden

Lead Vocals (9, 10, 12)

Darrell Lavigne

Keyboard Solo (10)

Joe Louis Walker

Lead Vocals, Guitar Solo (11)

Michael Lee

Lead Vocals, Guitar Solo (13)

Accessories

Product Note Status Price
The Soul Of The King - The BB King Blues Band VINYL The Soul Of The King - The BB King Blues Band VINYL
20.00
Display accessory details

Browse this category: The BB King Blues Band

The Soul Of The King


The Soul Of The King

Artikel-Nr.: RUF 1268
17,00


 

Veröffentlichung: Mai 2019

 

Es lebe der König. Vier Jahre nach dem Tod des legendären B.B. King bleibt sein überragender Einfluss auf die Blueswelt  - und darüber hinaus - ungebrochen. Von den langjährigen Fans, die von der einmaligen Konzertaufnahme Live At The Regal von 1965 noch immer fasziniert sind, bis zu den jungen Gitarristen, die mit einem Hauch von B.B.s berühmten Vibrato die Emotionalität ihrer eigenen Soli zu steigern versuchen, wird Kings Musik für immer und überall nachhallen. Dieses Jahr wird der Geist des unvergleichlichen Bluesman sogar noch stärker als sonst zu spüren sein – dank eines neuen, hochkarätig besetzten Albums namens The Soul Of The King.

                Der Begriff Legende ist eigentlich zu wenig, um B.B. Kings Stellung im Pantheon des Blues zu beschreiben. Seine Geschichte, die auf einer Baumwollplantage in Mississippi begann und ihn bis an die Spitze des Blues brachte, steht in seinen gefeierten Studioalben und sagenumwobenen Liveauftritten geschrieben. Mit seiner soulgetränkten Stimme und seiner Fähigkeit, mit nur einer gespielten Note die tiefsten Gefühle zu erzeugen, hat er das Genre geradezu revolutioniert. Nun möchte die B.B. King Blues Band – bestehend aus Musikern, die ihm über 35 Jahre lang zur Seite standen – das nächste Kapitel schreiben. Ihr Album The Soul Of The King mischt liebevolle Versionen von Klassikern aus Kings Diskografie mit bandeigenen Stücken. „Es ist wichtig, dass sein Erbe weiterlebt“, sagt der ausführende Produzent Terry Harvey.

Mit gleich mehreren Songwritern von Weltrang in ihren Reihen liefert The B.B. King Blues Band Titel, die den Vergleich mit der Hinterlassenschaft ihres einstigen Bandleaders nicht zu scheuen brauchen. Der eingängige, von Bläsern verstärkte Shuffle Low Down, die brodelnde Ballade She’s The One, der beschwingte Funk von Taking Care Of Business und das denkwürdige Hey There Pretty Woman (von Trompetenlegende James ‚Boogaloo‘ Bolden) sind nur einige Beispiele. Joe Louis Walker zollt seine Anerkennung im großen Stil bei Regal Blues während Kenny Wayne Shepherd bei der Auftaktnummer Irene Irene ein meisterhaftes Gitarrensolo spielt, das King stolz gemacht hätte. „Diejenigen, die B.B. zu Lebzeiten nie live hören oder sehen konnten“, erklärt der Produzent Harvey, „bekommen von dieser Platte einen wichtigen Einblick in seinen Stil und seine Einflüsse.“

                Heutzutage traut sich kaum ein Musiker an die Songs von B.B. King ran, wohl aus Sorge, dass sie nicht annähernd so viel Soul ausstrahlen wie der Mann selbst. Kings ehemalige Begleiter dagegen – allesamt Jahrzehnte lang im Bluesgeschäft aktiv – haben seine Musik schon längst verinnerlicht. Bei den Sessions in den Paramount Recording Studios in Hollywood und in den Lucky Run Studios in Houston stellten sie ihr großes Können unter Beweis. „Nach 35 Jahren an B.B.s Seite leben und atmen sie seine Musik“, sagt Harvey. „B.B. ist ein Teil von ihnen geworden.“

Aus Kings umfangreichem Katalog eine Songauswahl zu treffen, hätte zur Geduldsprobe werden können. Im Rahmen von The Soul Of The King hat das Lineup clever entschieden: Sie richteten sich nach dem jeweiligen Studiogast. „Sobald jemand seine Beteiligung am Projekt bestätigt hatte, haben wir uns daran gemacht, Songs aus dem Fundus  von B.B. raus zu suchen, die gut zu dessen Stimme passen“, erinnert sich Harvey. „Wir wollten uns weitgehend am Original halten und trotzdem frischen Wind rein bringen. B.B. soll immer in Erinnerung bleiben, daher ist es wichtig, dass heute auch junge Menschen seine Musik kennen lernen.“

                Auftrag ausgeführt: Auf The Soul Of The King werden einige von Kings bekanntesten Stücken mit neuem Leben erfüllt. Michael Lee singt The Thrill Is Gone mit sehr viel Herz. Paying The Cost To Be The Boss bringt die Gesangs- und Gitarrentalente von Mary Griffin und Taj Mahal zusammen. Kenny Neal fesselt mit ergreifendem Gesang und bluesigen Gitarrenlicks bei Sweet Little Angel. „Zu beobachten, wie die verschiedenen Künstler mit dieser Band arbeiten, war für mich eine aufschlussreiche Erfahrung“, reflektiert Harvey. „Jeder war gut vorbereitet, insbesondere Mary Griffin, die voller Elan ins Studio gekommen ist und ihren Gesangsbeitrag in nur zwei Takes fertig hatte.“

                Klar – die B.B. King Blues Band kann auf eine illustre Vergangenheit zurück schauen. The Soul Of The King zeigt allerdings, dass sie auch nach vorne blicken. Sie drücken damit die Liebe für ihren verstorbenen Kollegen aus und zeigen gleichzeitig, dass ihre Musik heute noch von Relevanz ist. „Mit diesem Album wollten wir der Welt zeigen, dass die Band von B.B. King noch gesund und munter ist“, resümiert Harvey. „Und, dass wir sein musikalisches Erbe in uns weiter tragen.“

 

TRACKLIST

001

Irene Irene

00:04:29

002

Sweet Little Angel

00:04:54

003

There Must Be A Better World

00:03:26

 

Somewhere

 

004

Paying The Cost To Be The Boss

00:04:48

005

Low Down

00:04:41

006

She's The One

00:05:26

007

Taking Care Of Business

00:03:17

008

Becoming The Blues

00:05:19

009

Hey There Pretty Woman

00:04:09

010

Here Today, Gone Tomorrow

00:04:02

011

Regal Blues (A Tribute To The

00:05:15

 

King)

 

012

Pocket Full Of Money

00:06:07

013

The Thrill Is Gone

00:03:37

 

Musicians

Russell Jackson

Lead Vocal (1,5,7,8)

Kenny Wayne Shepherd

Guitar (1)

Kenny Neal

Lead Vocals, Guitar Solo (2), Harmonica Solo (8)

Diunna Greenleaf

Lead Vocals (3), Background Vocals (8)

Eric Demmer

Lead Vocals (6), Alto, Saxophone Solo (3,4), Saxophone Solo (6,9), Tenor, Saxophone Solo (7)

Mary Griffin and Taj Mahal

Lead Vocals and Guitar (4)

Lamar Boulet

Trumpet (5), Trumpet Solo (12)

Krik Joseph

Tuba (5)

James “Boogaloo” Bolden & Johns Dell Toro Richarson

Backgroundvocals (7)

Wilbert Crosby

Guitar Solo (7,8,)

James “Boogaloo” Bolden

Lead Vocals (9, 10, 12)

Darrell Lavigne

Keyboard Solo (10)

Joe Louis Walker

Lead Vocals, Guitar Solo (11)

Michael Lee

Lead Vocals, Guitar Solo (13)

Zubehör

Produkt Hinweis Status Preis
The Soul Of The King - The BB King Blues Band VINYL The Soul Of The King - The BB King Blues Band VINYL
20,00 €
Details zum Zubehör anzeigen

Kunden, die dieses Produkt gekauft haben, haben auch diese Produkte gekauft

Solid Ground
12,00
The Devil To Pay
12,00

Diese Kategorie durchsuchen: The BB King Blues Band