Guitars & Feathers - Live DVD

Product no.: RUF 3016

In stock

17.00


 

Deorah Coleman * Candye Kane * Dani Wilde

Live recording of Ruf's 2008 BluesCaravan

 

Release date: May 2008

 

In just three years, the Ruf Records BluesCaravan has become an extremely popular musical event reaching more and more blues fans in more parts of the world. After stopping off in Paris, London and Berlin, the 2007 edition played over a dozen concerts in the USA and was a featured attraction at the renowned Notodden Blues Festival in Norway. Setting off under the title “Guitar’d and Feathered,” the trio of outstanding artists on the 2008 BluesCaravan tour promises to continue the trend.

“Guitar’d and Feathered” is the name of an exciting new album by California singer Candye Kane. Kane was on board for the initial BluesCaravan in 2005 and rejoins the tour on the heels of her hot new release. Famed for her flamboyant style and powerhouse vocals, the award-winning singer has authored eight albums to date on labels like Antone’s, Rounder, Sire and of course, Ruf. The current “Guitar’d and Feathered” project teams her with an all-star cast of six-string heroes including Kid Ramos, Popa Chubby and Ana Popovic. With or without such high-octane support, Kane never fails to win over the hearts of her audience. 

One of the artists holding up the “Guitar’d” end of the bargain is Deborah Coleman. The Virginia native has earned 11 Blues Music Award (W.C. Handy) nominations and has long been a respected performer in the United States. Last year, she finally got a chance to show off her talents to European audiences on the 2007 BluesCaravan tour. Boasting slick chops and an uncanny stage presence, Coleman can lay back on soulful, groove-oriented numbers or tear it up with some incendiary rock. Those who caught last year’s performances won’t want to miss this return engagement.

The BluesCaravan also has been instrumental in breaking talented young artists to an international audience. Ruf Records’ latest discovery is British singer/guitarist Dani Wilde. Inspired by American greats like John Lee Hooker and Buddy Guy, Wilde – who’s just in her early 20s – has already shared stages with stars like Jools Holland and Gary Moore. While major labels were coveting her for her mainstream appeal, she decided to stay true to her first love, the blues. “In 33 years in the music business, I’ve never heard a British female singer of such brilliant raw talent,” said one industry insider. Listen for yourself!

In 2007, Ruf Records was recognized by the Blues Foundation with the “Keeping the Blues Alive” award. The stellar roster assembled for the 2008 BluesCaravan tour offers further proof that the music is alive and well. Featuring solo sets by each of the three performers as well as a jam session finale, the BluesCaravan is an unbeatable live blues experience.  

 

Tracklist:                                                        

1. Won’t leave                             

2. Bring your loving home           

3. Heal my Blues          

4. Come Undone                

5. I love you more than I hate myself                          

6. You need a great big women                          

7. My country man               

8. I’m lucky                          

9. Crazy lttle thing                                      

10. Toughest Girl Alive                   

11. Bad Boy              

12. I got to know

13. Fight

14. Jesus just left Chicago

15. Somethings got a hold from me

16. Whole lotta love

17. Rocking on the Blues Caravan                     

Accessories

Product Note Status Price
Guitars And Feathers - Live CD Guitars And Feathers - Live CD
12.00 €
Display accessory details

Customers who bought this product also bought


Browse this category: Ruf's BluesCaravan

Guitars & Feathers - Live DVD

Artikel-Nr.: RUF 3016

Auf Lager

17,00


Deorah Coleman * Candye Kane * Dani Wilde

Live-Aufnahme des BluesCaravan 2008

 

Veröffentlichung: Mai 2008

 

In seinen ersten drei Jahren ist der Ruf Records BluesCaravan ein sehr beliebtes Musikevent geworden, das in vielen Ländern der Welt immer mehr Bluesfans erreicht. Nach Auftritten in u.a. Paris, London und Berlin, spielte die 2007er Ausgabe der Tour zum ersten Mal mehr als ein Dutzend Konzerte in den USA und war auch beim renommierten Notodden Bluesfestival in Norwegen mit von der Partie. Unter dem Motto “Guitar’d and Feathered” macht sich nun der BluesCaravan 2008 auf den Weg, um den Erfolgskurs weiter zu führen.

“Guitar’d and Feathered” heißt die aktuelle CD von Sängerin Candye Kane. Die Kalifornierin war beim allerersten BluesCaravan 2005 dabei und steigt jetzt mit ihrem spannenden neuen Album im Gepäck erneut ein. Es ist die insgesamt achte Veröffentlichung dieser mehrfach ausgezeichneten Künstlerin, die für ihren schrägen Stil und ihre kraftvolle Stimme berühmt ist. Auf der “Guitar’d and Feathered” CD wird sie von einer Reihe hochkarätiger Gitarristen und Gitarristinnen begleitet, darunter auch Kid Ramos, Popa Chubby und Ana Popovic. Aber auch ohne deren Unterstützung gelingt es Kane jedes Mal, das Publikum in ihren Bann zu ziehen. 

Deborah Coleman steht eindeutig für das Element “Guitar” in der Tour-Überschrift. Die aus Virginia stammende Sängerin und Gitarristin war schon elf Mal für den Blues Music Award (W.C. Handy) nominiert und gehört in den USA schon längst zu den Topacts der Szene. Mit dem BluesCaravan 2007 konnte Coleman endlich wieder auch beim europäischen Publikum ihr Können unter Beweis stellen. Eine beeindruckende Fingerfertigkeit und unwiderstehliche Bühnenpräsenz begeisterten die Zuschauer immer wieder. Mit ihrem relaxten, groove-orientieren Soul und messerscharfen Rock gewann Ms. Coleman damals viele neue Fans dazu – die diesmal sicherlich wieder kommen wollen.

In den letzten Jahren präsentierten sich beim BluesCaravan auch viele Jungtalente erstmals einem großen internationalen Publikum. Die neueste Entdeckung von Ruf Records heißt Dani Wilde. Inspiriert durch amerikanische Legenden wie John Lee Hooker and Buddy Guy teilte diese Sängerin und Gitarristin aus England gerade erst mit Künstlern wie Jools Holland und Gary Moore die Bühne – und zwar schon mit Anfang 20. Einige Plattenfirmen sagten ihr eine große Zukunft als Popsängerin voraus, sie hat sich jedoch dafür entschieden, weiterhin Blues zu spielen. „In meinen 33 Jahren im Musikgeschäft, bin ich noch nie einer britischen Sängerin begegnet, die ein solch brillantes und ungeschliffenes Talent besitzt“, urteilte ein Brancheninsider. Entscheiden Sie selbst!

2007 wurde Ruf Records mit dem “Keeping the Blues Alive”-Award der Blues Foundation ausgezeichnet. Das Line-up des neuen BluesCaravan ist an sich ein Beweis für die Vitalität des Genres. Mit jeweils einem Soloset sowie einer anschließenden Jamsession aller beteiligten Musikerinnen wird der BluesCaravan 2008 ein unvergleichbares Liveblues-Erlebnis.

 

Tracklist:                                                          

1. Won’t leave                             

2. Bring your loving home           

3. Heal my Blues          

4. Come Undone                

5. I love you more than I hate myself                          

6. You need a great big women                          

7. My country man               

8. I’m lucky                          

9. Crazy lttle thing                                      

10. Toughest Girl Alive                   

11. Bad Boy              

12. I got to know

13. Fight

14. Jesus just left Chicago

15. Somethings got a hold from me

16. Whole lotta love

17. Rocking on the Blues Caravan                        

Zubehör

Produkt Hinweis Status Preis
Guitars And Feathers - Live CD Guitars And Feathers - Live CD
12,00 €
Details zum Zubehör anzeigen

Kunden, die dieses Produkt gekauft haben, haben auch diese Produkte gekauft


Diese Kategorie durchsuchen: BluesCaravan