One Woman Band

Product no.: RUF 1288
17.00


 

GHALIA VOLT

 

ONE WOMAN BAND

 

App

 

Release date: January 2021

Never underestimate the power of a woman with her back to the wall. In March 2020, as Covid blew across the planet, the shutters came down on live venues and recording studios, and the music scene fell suddenly silent, Ghalia Volt faced the same dilemma as every other artist. What now?

The answer was One Woman Band.

For Volt, the rebirth as a solo performer wasn’t a decision made lightly. Since the early days, she’s been a musician who thrives on the buzz of the hook-up, surrounding herself with the best players and soaking up their vibe. Back in 2017, it was the Belgium-born songwriter’s taste for collaboration that led her to New Orleans, for the meeting with local blues legends Mama’s Boys that became her smash-hit debut album, Let The Demons Out.

Two years later, it was that same spirit that lured Volt to the fabled hill country of Coldwater, Mississippi, to hold her own at second-album sessions with greats like Cody Dickinson, Cedric Burnside, Lightnin’ Malcolm and Watermelon Slim.

With the breakout success of 2019’s Mississippi Blend – a record that broke into the Top 3 of the Billboard Blues Chart on three separate occasions – it seemed the world was Volt’s for the taking, her seven-year transformation from Brussels busker to the adopted daughter of American roots gathering pace. Now, with One Woman Band, the journey takes a thrilling left-turn. If her apprenticeship on the mean streets taught Volt anything, it’s that she already had everything she needed to make magic – and in March, she reconnected with that one-woman philosophy. “I started playing on a real drum set,” she recalls. “Playing a kick, snare and hi-hat plus a tambourine with my two feet, while playing slide/guitar and singing at the same time.”

After road-testing the new format at shows across Mississippi, Volt realised that one was the magic number. In August, she committed to the project, embarking on a month-long Amtrak train trip that became an intensive writing session, the shifting landscapes beyond the window inspiring her pen to scratch as never before. “I crossed Louisiana, Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, California, Nevada, Utah, Wyoming, Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, Iowa, Illinois, Missouri, Tennessee, Kentucky, Arkansas, Mississippi,” she reflects. “The goal? To write the entire album through my travel. Most of the songs are inspired by the journey and real experiences. Others are from imagination.”

Recorded in November at Memphis’s legendary Royal Sound Studios – “on the same board where Al Green and Willie Mitchell made history” – One Woman Band saw Volt take an equally old-school approach. Rejecting the soft option of multi-tracking, she chose to record all the instruments live in real-time, flying solo except for two cameos on bass from New Orleans ace Dean Zucchero, and a pair of guest guitar solos from ‘Monster’ Mike Welch (a recent guest on Volt’s popular Blues ‘N’ Roll virtual sessions on YouTube). Co-producing the record with Lawrence Boo Mitchell, Volt made the bold decision to let the rough edges stay on, prizing atmosphere over perfection and delivering her most groove-driven material to date.

You can feel the turn of those train wheels in the addictive stomp of songs like Reap What You Sow, or Last Minute Packer, where Volt gives us a candid snapshot of road life’s manic pace, complete with a wicked double-entendre (‘It’s another hotel room/One night stay, wap bam boom’). Meanwhile, the rattle-and-shiver slide guitar of Espiritu Papago evokes the scream of a locomotive whistle. “Imagine John Lee Hooker on mushrooms, lost in the desert of Arizona, on a hot summer day,” says Volt. “That’s the vibe of that song.”

Just as the music cuts to the bone, so the lyrics are honest, raw and often witty, whether that’s Volt laying down her ground rules for a partner on Loving Me Is A Full Time Job, or exploring how a parent’s toxic example can create a monster on Bad Apple. “It Ain’t Bad was the first song I wrote when the pandemic started,” she explains. “I remember walking in the park after fifteen days without family or friends, income or work, and telling myself, even if we’re going through rough times, we’re still fortunate, so don’t take things for granted. Meet Me In My Dreams evokes how lucky we are when someone we’ve lost forever appears in our dreams. When your own memories start to fade, any new moment spent together – even in a dream – feels golden.”

The Covid-19 pandemic is an unprecedented chapter of human history, with no clear end in sight. But Ghalia Volt has given us the soundtrack to better times ahead, and the songs we’ll still be singing when we meet on the other side. This might be a One Woman Band – but you’re always welcome to ride shotgun.

 

TRACK LIST

001

Last Minute Packer

00:03:51

002

Espìritu Papàgo

00:04:12

003

Can’t Escape

00:04:35

004

Evil Thoughts

00:04:22

005

Meet Me In My Dreams

00:04:14

006

Reap What You Sow

00:03:45

007

Loving Me Is A Full Time Job

00:04:09

008

It Hurts Me Too

00:02:44

009

It Ain’t Bad

00:02:26

010

Bad Apple

00:04:29

011

Just One More Time

00:02:51

 

Musicians

All songs performed by Ghalia Volt (vocals, guitars, slide, drums)

Special guests:

• 02_Espìritu Papàgo – Featuring Dean Zucchero on bass

• 04_Evil Thoughts – Featuring Monster Mike Welch on guitar

• 11_Just One More Time – Featuring Monster Mike Welch on guitar and Dean Zucchero on bass

 

 

Accessories

Product Note Status Price
Let The Demons Out Let The Demons Out
17.00 €
Mississippi Blend Mississippi Blend
17.00 €
One Woman Band (180g Vinyl) One Woman Band (180g Vinyl)
20.00 €
Display accessory details

Customers who bought this product also bought

Heart Of Fire
17.00
Roads That Cross
17.00
Tell Me
12.00

Browse this category: Ghalia

One Woman Band

Artikel-Nr.: RUF 1288
17,00


 

GHALIA VOLT

 

ONE WOMAN BAND

 

App

 

Veröffentlichung: Januar 2021

 

Der Kampfgeist einer Frau, die mit dem Rücken zur Wand steht, sollte niemals unterschätzt werden. Im März 2020 – als die Ausbreitung von COVID-19 zur Schließung etlicher Liveclubs und Aufnahmestudios führte und die Musikszene zum Stillstand brachte – sah sich Ghalia Volt mit einem Dilemma konfrontiert. Was mache ich denn jetzt?

Die Antwort auf diese Frage lautete: One Woman Band.

Der Schritt zu einem neuen Soloalbum fiel ihr nicht leicht. Seit Beginn ihrer Karriere umgibt sich Volt mit talentierten Musikern und lässt sich gerne von ihrer Energie anstecken. Aus genau diesem Grund ist die gebürtige Belgierin im Jahr 2017 nach New Orleans umgezogen. Dort tat sie sich mit hiesigen Blueslegenden den Mama‘s Boys zusammen und spielte zusammen mit ihnen ihr erfolgreiches Debüt Let The Demons Out ein.

Zwei Jahre später reiste sie auf der Suche nach immer neuen Kollaborationen in das sagenumwobenen Hill Country von Mississippi, um mit Größen wie Cody Dickinson, Cedric Burnside, Lightnin’ Malcolm und Watermelon Slim ihr zweites Album aufzunehmen. Die dort entstandene LP Mississippi Blend hielt sich monatelang auf den oberen Plätzen der Billboard Blues Charts. Nach diesem Durchbruch schien die Transformation der einstigen Brüsseler Straßenkünstlerin, in eine anerkannte Tochter der amerikanischen Roots-Musik vollendet zu sein.

Mit One Woman Band macht Volt auf ihrer Reise nun einen kleinen, spannenden Abstecher. Aus ihrer Erfahrung als Straßenmusikerin hat sie vor allem eines gelernt: Sie ist längst in der Lage, ein Publikum zu verzaubern. In diesem März hat sie sich auf die One-Woman-Philosophie von damals besonnen. „Ich habe angefangen, mit den Füßen Schlagzeug zu spielen – also Kickdrum, Snare, Hi-Hat und Tamburine – während ich singe und mich auf der Gitarre begleite.“

Das neue Format wurde bei einigen Soloauftritten in Mississippi ausgetestet. Dabei erkannte sie, dass die Nummer eins eine durchaus magische Zahl sein kann. Im Sommer begab sie sich dann auf eine lange, intensive Zugreise durch die Vereinigten Staaten, um sich inspirieren zu lassen. „Ich bin kreuz und quer durch Louisiana, Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, California, Nevada, Utah, Wyoming, Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, Iowa, Illinois, Missouri, Tennessee, Kentucky, Arkansas und Mississippi gereist,“ reflektiert sie. „Mein Ziel? Ich wollte das komplette Album unterwegs schreiben. Die meisten Songs beruhen auf echte Erfahrungen während dieser Reise. Andere sind ein Produkt meiner Fantasie.“

Im November war es dann so weit: One Woman Band wurde in den legendären Royal Sound Studios in Memphis aufgenommen. „Auf diesem Mischpult haben Al Green und Willie Mitchell Geschichte geschrieben“, schwärmt sie. Dem historischen Ort entsprechend entschied sich Volt bei One Woman Band für einen Old-School-Verfahren. Alle Instrumente wurden live aufgenommen. Bis auf einigen wenigen Ausnahmen spielte sie alles selbst: New Orleans-Aß Dean Zucchero taucht zweimal am Bass auf, während „Monster“ Mike Welch (neulich bei Ghalias beliebter, virtueller Session-Reihe „Blues ‚n‘ Roll“ auf YouTube zu Gast) zwei passionierte Gitarrensoli beisteuert. Als Mitproduzent neben Lawrence „Boo“ Mitchell verzichtete Volt auf Perfektion zugunsten einer rauen, dynamischen Atmosphäre. Noch nie waren ihre Songs derart vom Groove angetrieben.

In den stetigen, stampfenden Rhythmen von Titeln wie „Reap What You Sow“ oder „Last Minute Packer“ spürt man das tuckernde Rollen des Zuges. Mit Letzterem macht Volt ein schonungsloser Schnappschuss vom hektischen Leben „on the road“ und geizt dabei nicht mit Zweideutigkeit. (It’s another hotel room/One night stay, wap bam boom’). Die schaudernde Slidegitarre von „Espiritu Papago“ ruft wiederum den Schrei einer Lokomotivpfeife hervor. „Da geht man auf einem Mushroom-Trip mit John Lee Hooker mit und irrt mit ihm an einem heißen Sommertag in der Wüste von Arizona herum“, sagt Volt. „So würde ich die Stimmung dieses Songs in Worte fassen“.

Genau wie die Musik treffen auch Volts offene, ehrliche und auch witzige Songtexte bis ins Mark – egal, ob sie einem Liebhaber die Grundregeln ihrer Beziehung erklärt wie bei „Loving Me Is A Full Time Job“ oder über schlechte Eltern schreibt, die ein kleines Monster großziehen wie bei „Bad Apple“. „It Ain’t Bad ist der erste Song, der mir nach Anfang der Pandemie eingefallen ist“, schaut sie zurück. „Nach ein paar Wochen ohne Freunde und Familie, ohne eine Arbeit oder ein Einkommen, habe ich mir gesagt: Es sind zwar harte Zeiten angebrochen, aber wir haben trotzdem Glück und sollen das nie vergessen. Bei ‚Meet Me In My Dreams’ geht es um die nächtliche Begegnung mit jemanden, der in Wirklichkeit nicht mehr da ist. Wenn die Erinnerungen an diesem Menschen verblassen, ist man dankbar für jeden Moment zusammen – auch wenn es nur im Traum ist.“

                Die COVID-19-Pandemie schrieb ein bisher unbekanntes Kapitel in der Menschheitsgeschichte. Ein Ende ist noch nicht in Sicht. Mit ihrem neuen Album blickt Ghalia Volt in eine bessere Zukunft mit Songs, die wir noch singen werden, wenn wir uns mal endlich wieder treffen können. Sie nennt diese Reise zwar One Woman Band – doch jeder ist herzlich eingeladen.

 

TRACK LIST

001

Last Minute Packer

00:03:51

002

Espìritu Papàgo

00:04:12

003

Can’t Escape

00:04:35

004

Evil Thoughts

00:04:22

005

Meet Me In My Dreams

00:04:14

006

Reap What You Sow

00:03:45

007

Loving Me Is A Full Time Job

00:04:09

008

It Hurts Me Too

00:02:44

009

It Ain’t Bad

00:02:26

010

Bad Apple

00:04:29

011

Just One More Time

00:02:51

 

Musiker

All songs performed by Ghalia Volt (vocals, guitars, slide, drums)

Special guests:

• 02_Espìritu Papàgo – Featuring Dean Zucchero on bass

• 04_Evil Thoughts – Featuring Monster Mike Welch on guitar

• 11_Just One More Time – Featuring Monster Mike Welch on guitar and Dean Zucchero on bass

Zubehör

Produkt Hinweis Status Preis
Let The Demons Out Let The Demons Out
17,00 €
Mississippi Blend Mississippi Blend
17,00 €
One Woman Band (180g Vinyl) One Woman Band (180g Vinyl)
20,00 €
Details zum Zubehör anzeigen

Kunden, die dieses Produkt gekauft haben, haben auch diese Produkte gekauft

Heart Of Fire
17,00
Roads That Cross
17,00
Meeting My Shadow
17,00

Diese Kategorie durchsuchen: Ghalia