Change My Game


Change My Game

Product no.: RUF 1240
15.00
Price incl. VAT, plus delivery


Talk about a tough act to follow. Back in 2014, Thorbjørn Risager & The Black Tornado released Too Many Roads: the award-winning ninth album that saw the golden-voiced frontman and his seven-piece lineup showered with global acclaim. For the fans who had followed the Copenhagen band since their formation in 2003, it felt like a career-best release.

But we were wrong. With Change My Game, Thorbjørn has raised the stakes once again. In a world where most bands are content to tread water, here’s an album that breaks new creative ground, explores fresh musical directions and delivers a bold batch of songs that are at once catchy and immediate, but rich with deeper meaning.

Released in January 2017 on Ruf Records, Change My Game is not just an album title, but also the guiding ethos that has driven this band from the start. Since making their first impact with 2006’s From The Heart, Thorbjørn and his all-star lineup have dodged media pigeonholes and broken down the boundaries of genre, their confidence to experiment growing with every year spent together on the road. Now, on this 11th album, their musical leap is greater than ever before, with dynamic arrangements sent through the roof by the band’s musicianship and Thorbjørn’s electrifying vocal.

Change My Game finally achieves the studio sound that Thorbjørn has always heard in his head. For the first time, the eight musicians decided to self-produce and mix the entire album, and the result is a visceral production that showcases their best material to date. Rock-influenced songs like Dreamland are hard, fiery and ferocious. Ballads like lead-off single I Used To Love You have an aching emotional power. Meanwhile, for the fans who love the Tornado’s fresh take on classic blues, there’s Train, which opens with a locomotive sound, a lone vocal and an acoustic guitar – before the band turn up the heat and bring the song to its horn-driven climax.

At a time when technology rules the music industry, Change My Game is an album that runs on human chemistry, and that’s testament to the 800-plus shows that this lineup has played together in 21 countries from the Canada to India. Firm believers in the power of live music, Thorbjørn and the band will take Change My Game out on the road in 2017, with a touring schedule that will see them raise roofs across the planet and convert countless new fans to the cause.

Fourteen years into their career, these are high times for Thorbjørn Risager & The Black Tornado. Perhaps you thought they’d peaked with Too Many Roads. But with Change My Game, the only way is up…

 

FACTS:

  • Despite hailing from Denmark and releasing albums on a small Danish label until 2014, the band have won acclaim in Canada and all over Europe.
  • They have played over 800 shows – more than 200 of these at festivals – in 21 countries including Canada and India.
  • They received a Danish Grammy two years in a row.
  • In Germany, where they recently participated in the legendary TV show Tyskland ROCKPALAST, they received one of the most prestigious awards in the business.
  • In the UK, they were included on the Classic Rock Blues Magazine’s Best Of 2014 CD.
  • The band was formed in 2003, and all but two of the original members are still in the lineup.

Accessories

Product Note Status Price
Too Many Roads Too Many Roads
15.00 € *
Songs From The Road (CD-DVD-Set) Songs From The Road (CD-DVD-Set)
17.00 € *
* Prices incl. VAT, plus delivery
Display accessory details

Customers who bought this product also bought

Too Many Roads
15.00 € *
Live
5.00 € *
Summertime Blues
5.00 € *
Black Wind Howlin'
15.00 € *
* Prices incl. VAT, plus delivery

Browse this category: Thorbjorn Risager

Change My Game


Change My Game

Artikel-Nr.: RUF 1240
15,00
Preis inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand


Das nennt man wohl ein schwieriges Erbe: 2014 brachten Thorbjørn Risager & The Black Tornado mit Too Many Roads ihr preisgekröntes neuntes Album heraus, für das der Frontmann mit der Reibeisenstimme und seine siebenköpfige Band weltweit mit Lob überschüttet wurden. Für die Fans, die der Kopenhagener Band seit 2003 folgen, war es die beste Veröffentlichung ihrer bisherigen Karriere.

Doch wir hatten alle Unrecht. Mit Change My Game hat Thorbjørn die Messlatte noch einmal ein Stück höher gelegt. Anstatt wie andere Bands weiter auf den einmal bekannten Pfaden zu wandeln, hat sich die Band neue kreative Gründe erschlossen, probiert neue musikalische Richtungen aus und liefert ein ganzes Bündel kühner Songs ab, die direkt und eingängig und zugleich reich an tieferer Bedeutung sind.

Veröffentlicht im Januar 2017 auf Ruf Records ist Change My Game nicht bloß ein Albumtitel, sondern steht zugleich für das Ethos, dem die Band von Anfang an gefolgt ist. Seit ihrem ersten Erfolg mit From The Heart in 2006 haben Thorbjørn und seine All-Star-Band die üblichen Schubladen und Genregrenzen einfach hinter sich gelassen. Mit jedem gemeinsamen Jahr auf Tour wuchs ihr Mut zum Experiment weiter. Jetzt, auf ihrem 11. Album, ist ihr musikalische Reichweite größer denn je, mit dynamischen Arrangements, die die Band mit ihrer Musikalität und Thorbjørn mit seiner elektrisierenden Stimme durch die Decke jagen.

Change My Game erreicht endlich den Studiosound, den Thorbjørn immer schon im Kopf hatte. Zum ersten Mal haben sich die acht Musiker dazu entschieden, das gesamte Album selbst zu produzieren und abzumischen. Das Resultat ist eine äußerst organische Produktion, die ihr bisher bestes Songmaterial wundervoll zur Geltung bringt. Rock-beeinflusste Songs wie „Dreamland“ sind hart, wild und leidenschaftlich. Balladen wie die Vorabsingle „I Used to Love You“ besitzen schmerzhafte emotionale Kraft. Für die Fans, die die frische Art mögen, mit der die Tornados klassischen Blues interpretieren, gibt es „Train“, das mit dem Geräusch einer Lokomotive, einer einsamen Stimme und akustischer Gitarre einsetzt – ehe die Band den Schalter umlegt und den Song zu seinem von Bläsern gestützten Höhepunkt treibt.

In Zeiten, in denen die Musikindustrie von Technologie bestimmt wird, ist Change My Game ein Album, das von der Chemie zwischen Menschen lebt, die mehr als 800 Shows in 21 Ländern von Kanada bis Indien miteinander gespielt haben. Als Menschen, die sehr an die Kraft von Live-Musik glauben, kommen Thorbjørn und die Band 2017 mit Change My Game auf Tour. Mit einem Terminplan, der sie rund um den Planeten führt, werden sie es überall ordentlich krachen lassen und viele neue Fans hinzugewinnen.

Thorbjørn Risager & The Black Tornado spielen derzeit auf dem Höhepunkt ihrer 14 Jahre währenden Karriere. Vielleicht haben Sie gedacht, dass die Band mit Too Many Roads schon ihren Zenit erreicht hat. Mit Change My Game allerdings gibt es nur eine Richtung – weiter nach oben...

FAKTEN:

  • Obschon sie aus dem kleinen Dänemark stammen und ihre Alben bis 2014 auf einem ebenso kleinen dänischen Label veröffentlicht haben, hat sich die Band Lob und Anerkennung in Kanada und ganz Europa erspielt.
  • Sie haben über 800 Shows – mehr als 200 davon auf Festivals – in 21 Ländern gespielt, darunter auch in Kanada und Indien.
  • Sie haben zwei Jahre in Folge einen dänischen Grammy gewonnen.
  • In Deutschland, wo sie vor kurzem im legendären Rockpalast im TV zu sehen waren, haben sie einen der prestigereichsten Preise des Musikbusiness gewonnen.
  • In Großbritannien wurden sie vom Classic Rock Blues Magazine mit auf die CD der besten Veröffentlichungen des Jahres 2014 genommen.
  • Die Band wurde 2003 gegründet und ist bis auf zwei Ausnahmen noch in der Originalbesetzung zusammen.

Zubehör

Produkt Hinweis Status Preis
Too Many Roads Too Many Roads
15,00 € *
Songs From The Road (CD-DVD-Set) Songs From The Road (CD-DVD-Set)
17,00 € *
* Preise inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand
Details zum Zubehör anzeigen

Kunden, die dieses Produkt gekauft haben, haben auch diese Produkte gekauft

Diva La Grande
5,00 € *
Temptation
15,00 € *
* Preise inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand

Diese Kategorie durchsuchen: Thorbjørn Risager