Vanessa Collier - Meeting My Shadow


Vanessa Collier - Meeting My Shadow

Product no.: RUF 1239
15.00
Price incl. VAT, plus delivery


Vanessa Collier’s time is now. For uninitiated listeners who have never experienced this fascinating artist, Meeting My Shadow will be a revelation. But to the long-time fans who have followed the Maryland singer, songwriter and saxophonist through the twists of her career, this is the classic album she’s promised from the start. “Meeting My Shadow is a meeting of the past, present and future,” notes Vanessa of this second release. “A tribute to the spirit of blues tradition, a reflection on our present culture and a hopeful wish for growth, understanding and inclusion as we move forward together. It’s also a story of perseverance and empowerment, meant to share strength and provide an uplifting message.”

As anyone at the sharp end of the music business will remind you, there’s no such thing as an overnight success. Vanessa was already brimming with potential during her early studies at Boston’s illustrious Berklee College Of Music. Yet it was her thrilling sets on tour with Grammy-winning blues titan Joe Louis Walker that achieved lift-off. “I love performing,” she says. “The energy of the people makes me come alive and allows me to find a part of myself that I really only share on that stage. I love that moment after a show, when people come up to meet me and I can see the emotion of being touched by one of my songs.”

Things began to move faster. When debut album Heart Soul & Saxophone landed in 2014 – announcing a songwriting palette touched by blues, funk, rock and soul – Vanessa found herself honoured as a Best Of 2014 Blues Breaker on Dan Aykroyd’s iconic House Of Blues radio show. Since then, she’s been a top-three finalist in the John Lennon Songwriting Competition, fought through to the 2016 International Blues Challenge in Memphis and shared bills with Annie Lennox, Willie Nelson and more. “Of course, there have been setbacks too,” she notes. “But what is a songwriter – or a person – with no setbacks? I learn about myself, and about people, and channel many of those setbacks into my songwriting.”

Now, Meeting My Shadow presents eleven songs that explore life’s triumphs and challenges. “This album is really a collection of experiences,” explains Vanessa, “which are as varied as the musical influences I draw from. I like to write about subjects that connect with audiences and that are universal to life, and I like each song to take you on a journey, both in the lyrics and in the music. This album has songs about shared struggles, empowerment, and perseverance that make you feel like you can overcome any obstacle.

“This album is then balanced out with witty, playful songs that make light of life,” she counters. “For instance, Poisoned The Well is about being let down and watching someone poison your surroundings, but there’s a strength in accepting that and always standing true to yourself. When It Don't Come Easy is about perseverance and finding your strength to keep moving regardless of any obstacles. Then, I have songs like Two Parts Sugar, One Part Lime and Meet Me Where I'm At, that are about finding the fun in life and celebrating each day.”

As bandleader and co-producer, Vanessa was the driving force behind last October’s sessions at the Music + Arts Studio in Memphis. Scan the inlay and you’ll find her credited for instruments from flute to organ, alongside her trademark soul-drenched vocals and searing sax. “The saxophone is very much an extension of my voice in each song,” she notes, “and you can really feel my attitude and emotion in the song through the way I play it. With my saxophone, I can wail, I can growl, I can cry. I can drive a song forward with a strong, edgy, unleashed attack. I can be subtle and beautiful. I can be strong and powerful.”

Meanwhile, Vanessa is quick to credit co-producer Kevin Houston and the crack-squad of studio musicians who brought grit and groove to her new material. “I got to laugh with T.K. Jackson (drums), find a sincere friendship with the very talented Laura Chavez (guitar) and feel my jaw drop with the slide guitar work of Josh Roberts. I was also deeply touched by Charles Hodges’ (keys) deep appreciation for my music and for my skills as a songwriter, and by Daniel McKee’s (bass) comparison of my music to that of Prince, in that my music appears simple and approachable by everyone, but has a surprising nuanced challenge that makes it really interesting as a musician. All of the musicians on my album were great to work with, and for me, these sessions were about bringing my music to life to share with people throughout the world. I'm super excited to do that in 2017.”

Released in 2017 on Ruf Records, Meeting My Shadow is the sound of a rising talent reaching unstoppable momentum. “I am unrelenting and passionate about what I do,” says Vanessa. “I’m made to perform and, for me, I don’t see any other option. I’m all in. Let’s go!” 

Customers who bought this product also bought

Samantha Fish
15.00 € *
Albertville
5.00 € *
Skin Of The Earth
5.00 € *
* Prices incl. VAT, plus delivery

Browse this category: Vanessa Collier

Meeting My Shadow


Meeting My Shadow

Artikel-Nr.: RUF 1239
17,00


 
 

App

 
Veröffentlichung: Februar 2017

 

Tracklist

001

Poisoned The Well

00:03:47

002

Dig A Little Deeper

00:03:10

003

When It Don't Come Easy

00:04:27

004

Two Parts Sugar, One Part Lime

00:03:08

005

When Love Comes To Town

00:04:57

006

You’re Gonna Make Me Cry

00:04:31

007

Whiskey And Women

00:31:37

008

Meet Me Where I'm At

00:04:31

009

Cry Out

00:03:21

010

Up Above My Head, I Hear Music In The Air

00:03:39

011

Devil's On The Downslide

00:04:35

 

Jeder betroffene Künstler im Musik-Geschäft wird daran erinnert, dass es so etwas wie einen über Nacht Erfolg nicht gibt. Vanessa hatte bereits während ihres Studiums an dem berühmten Berklee College Of Music ein überschäumendes Potenzial. Jedoch erst  auf der Tour mit Grammy-Gewinner Blues-Titan Joe Louis Walker, schöpfte sie aus ihren Vollen. „Ich liebe es,“ sagt sie. „Die Energie der Menschen macht mich lebendig und erlaubt es mir einen Teil zu finden, den ich wirklich nur auf der Bühne präsentiere. Ich liebe besonders den Moment nach einer Show, wenn die Leute zu mir kommen um mich zu treffen und ich sehe ihre Emotionen, weil einer meiner Songs sie berührt hat.“
Ihr Leben veränderte sich. Als das Debütalbum "Heart Soul & Saxophone" im Jahr 2014 veröffentlicht wurde  – eine vielschichtige songwriting Palette, beeinflusst von Blues, Funk, Rock und Soul -  beehrte Vanessa, als Best Of 2014 Blues Breaker,  Dan Aykroyds ikonische House Of Blues Radio Show. Seitdem war sie eine der Top-3-Finalisten im John Lennons Songwriting-Wettbewerb, kämpfte sich 2016 bis zum International Blues Challenge in Memphis vor und teilte Bühnen mit Annie Lennox, Willie Nelson und vielen mehr. „Natürlich gab es auch Rückschläge“, bemerkt sie. „Aber was ist ein Songwriter - oder eine Person - ohne Rückschläge? Ich lerne viel über mich und über meine Mitmenschen und transportiere viele dieser Rückschläge in mein Songs.“
Nun, Meeting My Shadow präsentiert elf Songs, welche die Triumphe und Herausforderungen des Lebens erforschen. „Dieses Album ist wirklich eine Erlebnissammlung“, erklärt Vanessa, „die so vielfältig ist wie die musikalischen Einflüsse, die ich einfließen lasse. Ich schreibe gerne über Themen, mit denen sich das Publikum verbunden fühlt und die universell zum Leben sind. Ich mag jedes Lied, das dich auf eine Reise schickt, sowohl in den Lyrics als auch in der Musik. Dieses Album hat Songs über gemeinsame Kämpfe, Bemächtigung und Beharrlichkeit, die sich anfühlen als könnte man jedes Hindernis überwinden.“
„Dieses Album ist ausgewogen mit witzigen, verspielten Songs die das Leben leichter machen“, sagt sie. „Zum Beispiel, Poisoned The Well ist darüber hängen gelassen zu werden und dabei zu beobachtet wie jemanden das gesamtes Umfeld vergiften, aber es gibt auch eine Kraft die hilft, dies zu akzeptieren und sich immer treu zu bleiben. When It Don't Come Easy ist über Beharrlichkeit und seine Stärke, im vorrankommen zu finden, unabhängig von jeglichen Hindernissen. Dann habe ich Songs wie Two Parts Sugar, One Part Lime und Meet Me Where I'm At, sie sind über die Suche nach dem Spaß im Leben und darüber jeden Tag zu feiern.
Als Bandleader und Co-Produzent war Vanessa die treibende Kraft hinter den letzten Oktober-Sessions im Music + Arts Studio in Memphis. Scannst du die Inlay und findest du sie bei allen Instrumenten von Flöte bis Orgel, unverkennbar ist auch ihre typisch Soul durchtränkten Stimme und das versengende Saxophon. „Das Saxophon ist in jedem Lied eine große Erweiterung meiner Stimme“, merkt sie an, „und man kann wirklich meine Haltung und Emotionen in jedem Lied durch die Art und Weise, wie ich es spiele spüren. Mit meinem Saxophon kann ich jammern, knurren und weinen. Ich kann ein Lied vorantreiben, mit einem starken, nervösen, entfesselten Angriff. Ich kann subtil und schön sein. Ich kann aber auch stark und mächtig sein.“
In der Zwischenzeit dankt Vanessa Co-Produzent Kevin Houston und seinem talentierten Team, die Charakter und Perfektion in ihr neues Material gebracht haben. "Ich habe viel mit T.K. Jackson (Schlagzeug) gelacht, eine aufrichtige Freundschaft mit der sehr talentierten Laura Chavez (Gitarre) gefunden und meine Kiefern nach unten klappen lassen bei der dahingleitenden Gitarrenbearbeitung von Josh Roberts. Ich war tief berührt von Charles Hodges (Klavier) tiefer Beurteilung für meine Musik und meine Fähigkeiten als Songwriter und von Daniel McKees (Bass) Vergleich meiner Musik, mit der von Prince, in diesem meine Musik einfacher und zugänglicher ist, aber dennoch überraschende nuancierte Herausforderung für Musiker bietet. Mit alle Musikern auf meinem Album war es großartig zu arbeiten, und für mich waren diese Sessions ein Möglichkeit meine Musik zum Leben zu erwecken und es mit Menschen auf der ganzen Welt zu teilen. Ich bin super aufgeregt, dies 2017 zu tun. "
2017 bei Ruf Records veröffentlicht, ist  Meeting My Shadow der Klang eines aufstrebenden Talents mit einer unaufhaltsamen Eigendynamik. „Ich bin unnachgiebig und leidenschaftlich, bei allem was ich tue“, sagt Vanessa. „Ich bin dazu gemacht aufzutreten und für mich gibt es keine andere Option.
Im großen Ganzen. Los gehts!“

Zubehör

Produkt Hinweis Status Preis
BluesCaravan 2017- Live CD & DVD BluesCaravan 2017- Live CD & DVD
19,00 €
Details zum Zubehör anzeigen

Kunden, die dieses Produkt gekauft haben, haben auch diese Produkte gekauft

Chills & Fever
17,00
Make Blues Not War
17,00
Albertville
7,00

Diese Kategorie durchsuchen: Vanessa Collier