Brown Sugar

Product no.: RUF 1155
7.00


 

App

 

Release date

1/2010

Release Notes

Born in Brooklyn, New York. Raised in Switzerland. A long-time Canadian who lives in Toronto. Speaks three languages. Performed in a half a dozen different countries in 2009, and will far exceed that in 2010.

Meet Shakura S'Aida, an international artist whose involvement in the Canadian music scene has been ongoing for the past 30 years, enriching the jazz, blues and classic R&B communities with her soulful voice, enthusiastic personality and commitment to music as an art form.

Whether speaking Swiss-German, French or English, Shakura instantly connects with

her audience. With her sensational guitarist, Donna Grantis, she delivers a powerful

show that always earns standing ovations.

And now, signed to a German record company, she's on the brink of releasing her first CD for Ruf Records.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
The CD "Brown Sugar" was recorded in Tennessee and produced by Jim Gaines, who has worked with artists such as Stevie Ray Vaughan, Huey Lewis, Santana, Coco Montoya and hundreds more. There are a dozen songs, all but one co-written by Shakura and Donna Grantis.

"Brown Sugar" will be released internationally in Spring 2010, and Shakura will tour more than a dozen European countries (sharing stages with Meena and Coco Montoya), and play major festivals across Canada and in the United States.

Already an experienced international artist, 2009 saw her perform at a major jazz festival in Tangiers, pay return visits to France, Italy, Germany and Switzerland, and make a quick trip to Finland to help mix and master the new CD.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Shakura S'Aida — pronounce her name "Shack-oora Sigh-ee-da"— began performing at a young age. Her first steps into music began with a Toronto community band called Mystique, which found her belting out tunes alongside Deborah Cox, and then became the lead singer in the 13-piece world music band, Kaleefah, that would later be nominated for a Juno Award.

She quickly learned how to own the stage and "perform," a skill she has since carried to the musical stage with roles in such productions as "Ain't Misbehavin'" and "Momma, I Want to Sing," and to the theatre as an actress. She's carried off supporting roles in film with Sudz Sutherland's "Doomstown" (2006) and in Frances Anne Solomon's "A Winter Tale" been featured in an installment of "Flashpoint" a major CTV television series that's also aired in the U.S.

As a solo artist, Shakura's career has spanned genres and countries and taken her to some of the most noted stages in the jazz world. She has performed at the Apollo Theatre in New York and has been nominated for numerous Maple Blues Awards over the last four years. She's at home with the repertoires of Ray Charsles, Nina Simone and the basic blues catalogue — but always wins audiences over with her own emotionally powerful songs.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
"I am truly blessed by all the incredible opportunities I have had," says Shakura. "My life has been filled with amazing adventures; I can't wait to see what happens next!"

What will happen next is an even greater degree of international acceptance, and a growing fan base around the world. That's for sure — Shakura S'Aida is a force of nature, and one that will have to be reckoned with.

 

Tracklist

  1. Mr. Right
  2. Walk Out That Door
  3. Gonna Tell My Baby
  4. (Did It) Break Your Heart
  5. Angels On High
  6. Chasing The Sun
  7. Missing The Good And The Bad
  8. Sweet Spot
  9. Brown Sugar
  10. This Is Not A Love Song
  11. Anti Love Song
  12. Outskirts Of Memphis

Customers who bought this product also bought

Haywire Riot
7.00
Albertville
7.00
Renegade
7.00
Live
7.00

Browse these categories as well: Shakura S'Aida, Sale

Brown Sugar


Brown Sugar

Artikel-Nr.: RUF 1155
7,00


Veröffentlichungsdatum

1/2010

Release Notes

Das Album “Brown Sugar” wurde in Tennessee aufgenommen und produziert von Jim Gaines, der mit Leuten wie Stevie Ray Vaughan, Huey Lewis, Santana, Coco Montoya and hunderten anderer gearbeitet hat. Von dem Dutzend Songs auf dem Album sind alle bis auf einen von Shakura und ihrer Gitarristin Donna Grantis geschrieben worden.

 

„Brown Sugar“ wird im Frühjahr 2010 weltweit veröffentlicht. Shakura wird dafür in über einem Dutzend europäischer Länder auftreten (und sich dabei die Bühne mit Meena und Coco Montoya teilen) sowie die großen Festivals in Kanada und den USA spielen.

 

Internationale Erfahrungen hat sie natürlich schon gesammelt: 2009 konnte man sie auf einem großen Jazz Festival in Tanger erleben, sie besuchte einmal wieder Frankreich, Italien, Deutschland und die Schweiz und sie reiste zu einem Kurztripp nach Finnland, wo sie beim Mix und Mastern ihres Albums assistierte.

 

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

 

Shakura S'Aida — “Scha-kuh-ra Ssa-ii-da ”— machte ihre ersten Bühnenerfahrungen als Teenie. Die ersten Schritte unternahm sie in einer Band aus einem Stadtviertel Torontos, die „Mystique“ hieß. Dort sang sie unter anderem neben dem späteren Superstar, der Sängerin und Schauspielerin Deborah Cox. Anschließend übernahm sie die Leadstimme bei der 13-köpfigen Worldmusicband „Kaleefah“, die für einen Juno Award nominiert wurde.

 

Sie lernte schnell, wie man die Bühne beherrscht und richtig agiert. Ihr Schauspielertalent hat Shakura Rollen in Produktionen wie "Ain't Misbehavin'" und "Momma, I Want to Sing” beschert. Als Schauspielerin ist sie neben ihren Theaterengagements auch im Film zu sehen, beispielsweise in “Doomstown” (2006) und in Frances Anne Solomons “A Winter Tale”. Außerdem hat sie in Fernsehserien gespielt, die auch in den USA gesendet wurden.

 

Im Verlauf ihrer Solokarriere hat Shakura viele Genres und Länder durchforstet und sie hat auf einigen der berühmten Bühnen der Jazzwelt gestanden. Sie ist im New Yorker Apollo Theater aufgetreten, sie ist in den letzten vier Jahren mehrfach für die Maple Blues Awards nominiert worden. In den Repertoires von Ray Charles oder Nina Simone ist sie ebenso heimisch wie im klassischen Katalog des Blues, und sie zieht mit ihrem eigenen Material, mit kraftvollen und emotionsgeladenen Songs, stets neue Hörerschaften in ihren Bann.

 

 

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

 

"Ich habe mit all diesen unglaublichen Zufällen, die ich  erlebt habe, wirklich großes Glück gehabt“, sagt Shakura. "Mein Leben steckt voll mit tollen Abenteuern. Ich kann´s gar nicht abwarten, was als nächstes passiert!“

Was als nächstes passiert? Noch mehr internationale Bekanntheit und Anerkennung sowie eine wachsende Fangemeinde in der ganzen Welt. Das ist garantiert. Shakura S’Aida ist eine Naturgewalt, und zwar eine, auf die man bedingungslos setzen kann.

Tracklist

  1. Mr. Right
  2. Walk Out That Door
  3. Gonna Tell My Baby
  4. (Did It) Break Your Heart
  5. Angels On High
  6. Chasing The Sun
  7. Missing The Good And The Bad
  8. Sweet Spot
  9. Brown Sugar
  10. This Is Not A Love Song
  11. Anti Love Song
  12. Outskirts Of Memphis

Kunden, die dieses Produkt gekauft haben, haben auch diese Produkte gekauft

Live
7,00
Haywire Riot
7,00
Albertville
7,00

Diese Kategorie durchsuchen: Shakura S'Aida