Eddie 9V

Eddie 9V

 

All his life, Eddie 9-volt has acted on instinct. Aged just 15, this old-soul artist turned away from the path of college and jobs to burst all guns blazing onto the blues club circuit of his native Atlanta, Georgia. Flash forward to 2019, and for his debut album, Left My Soul In Memphis, the prodigious multi-instrumentalist simply powered up the amps in his mobile trailer and with his brother/co-writer/producer, Lane Kelly, laid down one of the year’s breakout releases, acclaimed as “fresh and life-affirming” by Rock & Blues Muse. “Memphis was a total side project,” shrugs Eddie, “that ended up taking off.”

Born in June 1996, to a non-musical family living ten miles south of Atlanta, Eddie still remembers his fateful first guitar. “I was six and it was one of those with the speaker in it – get the most bang for your buck, y’know?” he muses. While manufactured pop dominated the airwaves as he came up at Union Grove High School in nearby McDonough, Eddie forked hard left, hanging with Lane and his friends, and digging back into the catalogues of blues giants like Muddy Waters, Howlin’ Wolf, Freddie King and Rory Gallagher. “I studied the older cats,” he explains, “saw what made them groove and tick.”

As for his freewheeling lyrics, Eddie credits his home life: “I’ve been making words up on the spot for years – my Uncle Brian taught me how to do that at our family fish fries. How to make people laugh, how to hold an audience’s attention.”

                Eddie still recalls the frustration of watching local musicians load into the fabled clubs of Atlanta. “My first heroes were the local legends like Sean Costello, but I was too young to go see them,” he remembers. When he finally made it inside, it was as a performer, learning his craft at the sharp end, and at precocious speed, with early vehicles like covers band The Smokin’ Frogs, and its maturing blues-rock offshoot, The Georgia Flood. “My first step in being a professional musician was learning how to accept failure,” says Eddie. “As a nobody, the music business is a dartboard. You just hope something sticks.”

                In 2013 – and before Eddie had even graduated high school – The Georgia Flood represented the Atlanta Blues Society in the International Blues Challenge in Memphis. That band spilled over into the indie-rock PREACHERVAN, but perhaps the pivotal moment came in 2019, when he dropped his birth name – Brooks Mason – and adopted the Eddie 9V moniker for his solo work. “There are too many Joe Schmo blues bands,” he reasons. “I was on the road with another band and we were talking like mobsters. We all gave each other names – and mine was Eddie.”

                Since that rebirth as Eddie 9V, he’s not only pricked up the ears of the music press (“A huge talent,” wrote Blues Blast, “to be noticed and followed”), but earned a respect on the scene that made it easy to recruit local heroes for the Little Black Flies sessions. “Every player is the best of their craft,” says Eddie of his studio band, “and that’s why I picked ’em. We had the Tedeschi Trucks Band’s bass player Brandon Boone and the icon himself, Cody Matlock, on guitar. Everybody’s mood was so exciting. The energy was there.”


Display per page
Sort by

LITTLE BLACK FLIES

Product no.: RUF 1289

17.00

Eddie 9V

Eddie 9V

 

Schon sein ganzes Leben ist Eddie 9-volt seinem Instinkt gefolgt. Schnell mit Zeitraffer ins Jahr 2019: Sein gefeiertes Debütalbum Left My Soul In Memphis erscheint. Dafür schaltet der begabte Multiinstrumentalist einfach die Verstärker in seinem Wohnwagen ein und – gemeinsam mit seinem Bruder, Produzenten und Songwriting-Partner Lane Kelly – sorgt er für eine der Überraschungen des Jahres. Rock & Blues Muse lobt die Platte als „frisch und lebensbejahend“. Eddie fasst seinen damaligen Durchbruch eher nüchtern zusammen. „‘Memphis’ war ein Nebenprojekt, das unerwartet eingeschlagen ist.“

Geboren im Juni 1996 in der Nähe von Atlanta in eine Familie, die mit Musik nichts am Hut hatte, erinnert sich Eddie heute noch an seine erste Gitarre. „Ich war gerade sechs. Die Gitarre hatte einen eigenen, eingebauten Lautsprecher – eine ziemlich günstige Lösung, oder?“, überlegt er. Eddie folgt dem Vorbild seines Bruders Lane und entscheidet sich für eine vollkommen andere Richtung: Er wühlt neugierig in den Diskografien von Bluesgiganten wie Muddy Waters, Howlin’ Wolf, Freddie King oder Rory Gallagher. „Ich habe die alten Hasen unter die Lupe genommen“, erklärt er.

                Als er noch klein ist, beobachtet er – etwas gefrustet – hiesige Musiker, wie sie mit ihren Instrumenten die sagenumwobenen Musikclubs von Atlanta betreten. „Lokale Legenden wie Sean Costello gehörten zu meinen ersten Helden, ich war aber noch zu jung, um sie live zu sehen“, blickt er zurück. Zutritt zu den Clubs bekommt er erst, als er mit seinen ersten eigenen Bands dort auftritt – darunter eine Cover-Kapelle namens The Smokin’ Frogs und die Blues-Rock-Combo The Georgia Flood. „Die erste Lektion auf dem Weg zum Profimusiker besteht darin, mit Misserfolg umgehen zu können“, sagt er. „Für einen Niemanden ist das Musikgeschäft wie ein Dartspiel. Man hofft einfach, dass etwas hängen bleibt.“

                Ein Schlüsselmoment ereignet sich dann 2019, als er seinen Geburtsnamen Brooks Mason gegen Eddie 9V eintauscht. Seit seiner Umwandlung in den Solokünstler Eddie 9V erntet er nicht nur Lob von der Fachpresse (Blues Blast nannte ihn „ein enormes Talent, das man achten sollte“), sondern hat auch den Respekt seiner Musikerkollegen verdient, die gerne bereit sind, seine Einladung zu den Sessions zu Little Black Flies anzunehmen. „Das sind ausnahmslos Topleute“, sagt Eddie über seine Studioband. „Gerade deshalb habe ich sie ausgesucht. Brandon Boone, Bassist der Tedeschi Trucks Band ist dabei und auch kein geringerer als Cody Matlock an der Gitarre. Es herrschte eine spannende Stimmung im Studio. Die Energie war spürbar.“


Anzeige pro Seite
Sortieren nach

LITTLE BLACK FLIES

Artikel-Nr.: RUF 1289

17,00