7.00 €

incl. VAT, plus delivery


Release date: 5/2011

Music has always been part of Lightnin' Malcolm's heart and soul. From the moment he discovered an old raggedy guitar w/ a couple of strings and cassette of Muddy Waters his life and the music world would change forever. Malcolm's journey began near the railroad tracks in rural Southeast Missouri. For several years Malcolm traveled the world spreading his love for the blues. It wasn't until Malcolm settled in North Mississippi that he had a musical epiphany. He was drawn to the hill country blues first made famous by Fred McDowell and later R.L. Burnside, Junior Kimbrough and Jessie Mae Hemphill.

Fresh off the road Lightnin' Malcolm forges ahead with his new album "Renegade." The album which is due out on April 12 is high energy, hill country blues fused with modern elements of funk, reggae, soul, and rock. It features 12 new original songs all written and produced by Lightnin' Malcolm.

Recorded in Clarksdale, MS "Renegade" is a guitar and drums duo recording, played live and raw in the North Mississippi hill country tradition. Joining Lightnin' on drums is Cameron Kimbrough, grandson of blues legend Jr. Kimbrough. Cameron's creative energy, versatile playing, combined with his natural family talent creates a perfect fit for Malcolm's hypnotic grooves. Renegade also features a horn section on a few tracks comprised of Jim Spake, David McKnight, and Nahshon Benford. Lightnin' befriended the trio while touring with the popular Americana act Lucero. Nadirah Shakoor (Jimmy Buffet) lends her beautiful voice on the reggae flavored "Precious Jewel."

A Renegade by definition is an individual who rejects lawful or conventional behavior. The concept of Renegade closely reflects the turbulent lifestyle of a traveling musician. The authenticity of the music certainly permeates as result.

" The songs on this album are definitely the result of years livin' the renegade lifestyle. The renegade cuts against the grain, doin' things his own way on his own terms. I've always tried to be a right doin' person, to help people around me...I follow the laws of the universe, not the laws of man...I know right from wrong. Most times your on your own, movin' from place to place with your guitar and your music.."at the same time interacting, entertaining, jamming, working, helping, teaching, learning, singing, dancing, sleeping, and living with all the people that come through your life. You are what you've done and the legacy you leave behind is the life you live everyday. Its all about the music and the only way to play it is to live it," says Lightnin' Malcolm.

The music unites musicians and audience as they interact in a hypnotic dance with everybody rejoicing to the power and joy of the music we call the Blues!


  1. Ain't Even Worried
  2. Stop Fightin' Over Me
  3. Renegade
  4. So Many Women
  5. Guilty Man
  6. My Lyin' Ass
  7. Last Nite I Held An Angel
  8. Precious Jewel (feat. Nadirah Shakoor)
  9. Come Go With Me
  10. North Missippi (feat. J Grubbz)
  11. Foxfire Ranch
  12. Tell You Girl
  13. You Better Recognize