Songs From The Road (CD + DVD Set)


Songs From The Road (CD + DVD Set)

Product no.: RUF 1194
19.00


Release date

11/2013

Release Notes

Ladies and Gentlemen: the Brotherhood are in the building. The date is October 24th, 2012. The place is the Crossroads Festival in Bonn, Germany. And the vibe is pure electricity, as modern rock’s musical dream-team tear it up for the legendary Rockpalast TV show. It’s surely no coincidence that the Royal Southern Brotherhood kick off their set that night with Fired Up! In the words of that song’s chorus, Devon Allman, Cyril Neville, Mike Zito, Charlie Wooton and Yonrico Scott are undoubtedly “fired up and ready to go”…
    Released in November 2013, this new CD/DVD set takes listeners along for the ride, fusing a blistering Brotherhood set with the pin-sharp sound and production values you’ve come to expect from Ruf Records’ celebrated Songs From The Road series. Past releases have included everyone from Jeff Healey to Luther Allison – and now the spotlight turns on the southern supergroup who have lit up the post-millennial scene.
It’s hard to imagine a band more deserving of the live-album treatment. If there was chemistry afoot when the five members first convened in New Orleans over the summer of 2010, then it’s only been strengthened by the self-titled debut album that followed in 2012, and the subsequent world tour that has seen RSB raise the roof across twenty-plus countries. “We’ve got to see the world with this band,” says Devon, “and I love it.”
Given that intensive bonding session, it follows that Songs From The Road finds the collective at the peak of their powers, trading on the kind of chemistry that can only be forged through miles on the clock. Devon drips molten soul from his Gibson Les Paul. Behind the congas, Cyril is a groove in human form. Mike strokes and scorches the frets, while Charlie and Yonrico are a rhythm section locked down to the point of telepathy. “We have fun and we play as hard as we can,” says Mike of the band’s high standards onstage. “If you’re not there, you better get there… or we’re gonna knock you over!”
The unofficial sixth member that night in Germany, of course, was the Crossroads crowd, still pinching themselves at getting up close and personal with this A-list band in such intimate surroundings. “It was such a beautiful evening,” says Mike of the vibe in the house, “with an amazing audience that really got into the music. They lifted the band up and made us feel good. It was such an honour to perform for Rockpalast.”
    Aside from the blazing chops and interplay, Songs From The Road is also a timely reminder of the Brotherhood’s unique talent for songwriting, showcasing the splice of Southern funk, blues and soul that Cyril memorably describes as a “gumbo”. All killer and no filler, this Rockpalast set mines the band’s debut album for classics including Fire On The Mountain, Hurts My Heart, Sweet Jelly Donut and Gotta Keep Rocking (alongside a stinging cover of the Rolling Stones’ Gimme Shelter). It’s a tribute to the heights they’ve already hit, while whetting our appetites for the highly anticipated second studio release, due for release in 2014.
    That’s the future, but let’s hit rewind. All five RSB members have heavyweight history, but their journey together began in the summer of 2010, amidst the stifling heat of New Orleans. Appropriately, this was the city that had once hosted the Allman Brothers’ early residence as house band at The Warehouse – as well as the spiritual home of the Neville Brothers – and now it provided the backdrop to the pivotal meeting between Cyril, Devon and Mike. Friendship sparked, talk soon turned to the formation a new breed of soul/blues/rock band, and when the first jams kicked off at a secluded studio in the city’s Garden District, the chemistry was too strong to deny.
Before they even hit a chord, Royal Southern Brotherhood had our attention, thanks to the lineup’s cocktail of famous musical bloodlines in Devon Allman and Cyril Neville. Great expectations indeed, but this was a band determined to trade off talent, not genealogy, and in May 2012, they shook off the baggage with Royal Southern Brotherhood. With veteran producer Jim Gaines catching the sparks from sessions at the Docklands Studios, Louisiana, this was a debut album that shot the band into the spotlight and more than delivered on the potential of the all-star lineup. The fans queued around the block, the international music press threw star ratings like confetti (including a Blues Music Award nomination in the ‘Rock Blues Album’ category) and the crazy ride began. Now, with Songs From The Road, it shows no sign of slowing.
“We really came into this and threw all the egos aside,” recalls Devon. “This was about making something greater than the individual parts. I mean, everyone hopes they can do a band like this. It’s been a dream come true…”   

Track list

  1. CD
    1    Fired up!
    2    Hurts My Heart
    3    Gotta Keep Rockin'
    4    Moonlight Over The Mississippi
    5    Left My Heart In Memphis
    6    Fire On The Mountain
    7    Band Introductions
    8    Ways About You
    9    Sweet Jelly Donut
    10    New Horizons
    11    All Around The World
    12    Gimme Shelter
  2. DVD
    1    Fired Up!
    2    Hurts My Heart
    3    Gotta Keep Rockin'
    4    Moonlight Over The Mississippi
    5    Left My Heart In Memphis
    6    Fire On The Mountain
    7    Ways About You
    8    Sweet Jelly Donut
    9    New Horizons
    10    All Around The World
    11    Sweet Little Angel
    12    Gimme Shelter

Accessories

Product Note Status Price
heartsoulblood heartsoulblood
12.00
Royal Southern Brotherhood Royal Southern Brotherhood
17.00
Turquoise Turquoise
12.00
Gone To Texas Gone To Texas
17.00
Magic Honey Magic Honey
12.00
heartsoulblood (180g Vinyl) heartsoulblood (180g Vinyl)
20.00
Songs From The Road (CD-DVD-Set) Songs From The Road (CD-DVD-Set)
12.00
Ragged & Dirty Ragged & Dirty
17.00
Don't Look Back (180g Vinyl DLP) Don't Look Back (180g Vinyl DLP)
27.00
The Royal Gospel The Royal Gospel
17.00
Display accessory details

Customers who bought this product also bought


Browse these categories as well: Royal Southern Brotherhood, Royal Southern Brotherhood

Songs From The Road (CD + DVD Set)


Songs From The Road (CD + DVD Set)

Artikel-Nr.: RUF 1194
17,00
Preis inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand


Veröffentlichungsdatum

11/2013

Release Notes

 

Ladies and Gentlemen: Die Royal Southern Brotherhood ist da! Das Datum ist der 24. Oktober 2012. Wir sind auf dem Crossroads Festival in Bonn. Und in der Luft liegt pure Elektrizität, als das Dreamteam der modernen Rockmusik auftritt, um für die legendäre Rockpalast TV-Show zu spielen. Es ist sicherlich kein Zufall, dass die Royal Southern Brotherhood ihr Set in dieser Nacht mit Fired Up! beginnen. Spätestens mit den Refrain dieses Songs wird klar, Devon Allman, Cyril Neville, Mike Zito, Charlie Wooton und Yonrico Scott „fired up and ready to go” sind…

Im November 2013 veröffentlicht lädt dieses neue CD/DVD-Set die Fans zu einem großartigen Klangerlebnis ein, das man bereits durch die anderen Ausgaben der Songs From The Roads-Reihe erwarten durfte. Nach Live-Alben von Jeff Healey oder Luther Allison wird nun also der Spot auf die Supergroup aus den Südstaaten gerichtet.

Es gibt kaum eine Band, die ein Live-Album mehr verdient hätte. Im Jahr 2012 veröffentlichten die fünf Musiker, die im Sommer 2010 erstmals in New Orleans zusammenkamen, ihr erstes gemeinsames gleichnamiges Album und bereisten während ihrer anschließenden Welttournee über 20 Länder. Die Harmonie in der Gruppe war von Anfang an spürbar. „Ich liebe es mit dieser Band weltweit auf Tour zu gehen“, bestätigt Devon Allman.

Das spürte man auch deutlich während der Aufnahme für Songs From The Road, die die Brotherhood in Höchstform zeigt. Devon schüttet seine Seele mit seiner Gibson Les Paul aus, an den Congas ist Cyril Neville die Verkörperung  des Groove schlechthin. Mike ist ein Meister an der Gitarre, während Charlie und Yornico eine Rhythm Section bilden, die telepathisch miteinander verbunden zu sein scheint. „Wir haben Spaß und spielen so gut wir können“, sagt Mike zu dem hohen Standard, den die Band auf der Bühne zeigt. „Wenn ihr noch nicht dabei gewesen seid, solltet ihr wirklich kommen…und wir werden euch umhauen!“

Das inoffizielle sechste Mitglied war in dieser Nacht natürlich die Crossroads-Crew. „Es war wirklich ein großartiger Abend“, erzählt Mike, „ wir hatten ein tolles Publikum, das die Band nur noch mehr angespornt hat und uns ein wirklich gutes Gefühl gab. Es war eine solche Ehre für Rockpalast zu performen.“

Abgesehen von dem perfekten Zusammenspiel der Band erinnert  Songs From The Road auch an die Songwritingkünste der Gruppe, die mit Einflüssen aus Southern Funk, Blues und Soul ein einzigartiges „Gumbo“  kreiert haben, um es mit Cyrils Worten zu sagen. Ohne irgendwelche Lückenfüller triumphiert  die Rockpalast-Setlist mit Klassikern ihres Debutwerks wie beispielsweise Fire On The Mountain, Hurts My Heart, Sweet Jelly Donut und Gotta Keep Rocking (neben einem beeindruckenden Cover von Gimme Shelter von den Rolling Stones). Es ist ein Tribut an die Höhepunkte, die die Royal Southern Brotherhood bereits hatte, und steigert die Neugierde auf das ersehnte zweite Studioalbum, das 2014 veröffentlicht werden soll.

Aber lasst uns noch einmal zu den Wurzeln der Band zurückkehren. Alle fünf Mitglieder haben bereits eine beeindruckende eigene Karriere vorzuweisen, aber ihre gemeinsame Geschichte begann im Sommer 2010 in der erdrückenden Hitze New Orleans‘. Passenderweise ist das die Stadt, in der einst die Allman Brothers als Houseband des The Warehouse spielten, genauso wie sie die Heimat der Neville Brothers ist und heute als zentraler Treffpunkt für Cyril, Devon und Mike dient. Freundschaften entstanden und bald war die Rede von der Gründung einer neuen Soul/Blues/Rockband. Nach den ersten Jamsessions in einem abgelegenen Studio im Garden District konnte niemand mehr die guten Vibes zwischen den Künstlern leugnen.

Noch bevor sie überhaupt eine Note spielten, hatte die Royal Southern Brotherhood dank der berühmten Namen von Cyril und Devon unsere Aufmerksamkeit. Die Erwartungen waren groß, doch diese Band wollte durch ihr Talent und nicht durch ihre Familiengeschichte überzeugen. Dies gelang ihnen auch sofort im Mai 2012 mit ihrem ersten Album Royal Southern Brotherhood. Mit dem Produzenten Jim Gaines und den Aufnahmen aus den Docklands Studios in Louisiana, katapultierte dieses Album die Band sofort nach vorne und zeigte mehr als deutlich das Potential hinter diesem Line-up.  Die Fans standen Schlange und die internationale Musikpresse überhäufte die Band mit großartigen Kritiken und Auszeichnungen (einschließlich einer Blues Music Awards-Nominierung in der Kategorie „Rock Blues Album“). Jetzt konnte es also richtig losgehen und mit Songs From The Road zeichnet sich auch kein Ende ab.

„Wir haben uns wirklich hineingehängt und das Ego beiseitegelassen“, erzählt Devon. „Hier ging es um etwas Größeres als die Einzelshows. Ich meine, jeder wäre doch gern Teil solch einer Band. Es ist ein wahrgewordener Traum…“

 

Track list

  1. CD
    1    Fired up!
    2    Hurts My Heart
    3    Gotta Keep Rockin'
    4    Moonlight Over The Mississippi
    5    Left My Heart In Memphis
    6    Fire On The Mountain
    7    Band Introductions
    8    Ways About You
    9    Sweet Jelly Donut
    10    New Horizons
    11    All Around The World
    12    Gimme Shelter
  2. DVD
    1    Fired Up!
    2    Hurts My Heart
    3    Gotta Keep Rockin'
    4    Moonlight Over The Mississippi
    5    Left My Heart In Memphis
    6    Fire On The Mountain
    7    Ways About You
    8    Sweet Jelly Donut
    9    New Horizons
    10    All Around The World
    11    Sweet Little Angel
    12    Gimme Shelter

Zubehör

Produkt Hinweis Status Preis
heartsoulblood heartsoulblood
10,00 € *
Royal Southern Brotherhood Royal Southern Brotherhood
15,00 € *
Turquoise Turquoise
10,00 € *
Gone To Texas Gone To Texas
15,00 € *
Magic Honey Magic Honey
10,00 € *
heartsoulblood (180g Vinyl) heartsoulblood (180g Vinyl)
18,00 € *
Songs From The Road (CD-DVD-Set) Songs From The Road (CD-DVD-Set)
10,00 € *
Ragged & Dirty Ragged & Dirty
15,00 € *
Don't Look Back (180g Vinyl DLP) Don't Look Back (180g Vinyl DLP)
25,00 € *
The Royal Gospel The Royal Gospel
15,00 € *
* Preise inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand
Details zum Zubehör anzeigen

Kunden, die dieses Produkt gekauft haben, haben auch diese Produkte gekauft

* Preise inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand

Auch diese Kategorien durchsuchen: Royal Southern Botherhood, Royal Southern Brotherhood