Songs From The Road (CD + DVD Set)


Songs From The Road (CD + DVD Set)

Product no.: RUF 1193
19.00


Release date

05/2013

Release Notes

Oli Brown is a man in motion. The world knows his name. The circuit knows his reputation. His mission to bring blues-rock to the people has seen him cross continents, tear through time zones and break language barriers. And yet, no matter how far the tour bus takes him, Oli has never forgotten his roots, nor the city that put him on his musical path. As such, on December 16, 2012, the bluesman who once stood in a Norwich schoolyard dreaming of a record deal returned as a conquering hero for a hometown gig like no other.
    Of course, Oli has returned to Norwich for triumphant end-of-year shows many times in the past, rewarding his loyal hometown fans for their support through the blood, sweat and slog of the early years. And yet, this time, the stakes were even higher, and the atmosphere still more electric, as the bandleader hit the city’s Waterfront venue with a recording crew, intent on capturing his live set as the latest release in Ruf Records’ legendary Songs From The Road series. “I really wanted to record my live show in Norwich,” explained the bluesman, “as everyone there has been so good to me.”
    Released in June 2013 as a CD/DVD set, Songs From The Road catches Oli at the top of his game, as he draws on an all-killer setlist that mines all three classic albums that fuelled his ascent. From his scorching 2008 debut, Open Road, there’s the irresistible groove of Stone Cold. From 2010’s lauded follow-up, Heads I Win Tails You Lose, there’s the heart-in-mouth Speechless, while from 2012’s game-changing Here I Am, the Waterfront roof is raised by cuts like Thinking About Her, Manic Bloom and Devil In Me. With the set also taking in new songs like Love Is Taking Its Toll, Songs From The Road is both a testament to the heights he’s already hit and a signpost to the thrillride ahead.
    Indeed, Songs From The Road is just one peak in what promises to be another triumphant year for Oli, as the bluesman prepares for a full-throttle summer of support slots with guitar legends Joe Satriani and Johnny Winter, alongside a volley of festival appearances and his own headline shows.

Tracklist

Track list
    
        CD/DVD
1.    Speechless
2.    Thinking About Her
3.    Manic Bloom
4.    Next Girl
5.    Mr Wilson
6.    Love Is Taking Its Toll
7.    Devil In Me
8.    You Can Only Blame Yourself
9.    Stone Cold

         Bonus tracks on DVD:
     Here I Am
     Evil Soul
     I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know
     Remedy

Accessories

Product Note Status Price
Heads I Win, Tails You Lose Heads I Win, Tails You Lose
17.00
Open Road Open Road
12.00
Here I Am Here I Am
12.00
Display accessory details

Customers who bought this product also bought


Browse these categories as well: Oli Brown, Oli Brown

Songs From The Road (CD + DVD Set)


Songs From The Road (CD + DVD Set)

Artikel-Nr.: RUF 1193
17,00
Preis inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand


Veröffentlichugnsdatum

05/2013

Release Notes

Bei Oli Brown tut sich gerade richtig viel. Die Welt kennt seinen Namen. Die Szene kennt seinen Ruf. Seine Mission, den Blues-Rock den Menschen näher zu bringen, hat ihn durch verschiedene Erdteile gebracht, durch mehrere Zeitzonen geführt und Sprachbarrieren durchbrechen lassen. Doch egal wie weit ihn der Tourbus auch bringt, Oli wird nie vergessen, wo seine Wurzeln liegen, noch die Stadt, die ihm seinen Weg in die Musik gezeigt hat. So kam es auch, dass er am 16. Dezember 2012 in die Stadt zurückkehrte, in der er einst auf dem Schulhof von einem Plattendeal träumte – nur um jetzt als gefeierter Held ein Heimatkonzert zu geben, das Seinesgleichen sucht.

Sicherlich war Oli bereits des Öfteren zu Konzerten in Norwich, um seinen treuen Fans aus der Heimat für ihre Unterstützung zu Beginn seiner Karriere zu danken. Und doch war der Einsatz bei diesem Gig höher und die Luft knisterte noch ein wenig mehr als sonst, denn dieses Mal zog die Band zusammen mit einer Filmcrew in das Waterfront ein, um die Show für die neueste Veröffentlichung der Songs From The Road-Reihe von Ruf Records aufzunehmen. „Ich wollte unbedingt meine Live-Show in Norwich aufnehmen“, erklärt der Bluesmusiker. „Hier waren alle so gut zu mir.“

Im Juni 2013 als CD/DVD-Set veröffentlicht fängt Songs From The Road Oli gerade auf dem vorläufigen Höhepunkt seiner Karriere ein; mit einer Setlist, die alle drei Alben vereint, die Oli dorthin brachten, wo er heute ist. Von seinem 2008er Album Open Road gibt es den unwiderstehlichen Groove von Stone Cold. Vom hochgelobten Heads I Win Tails You Lose (2010) ist Speechless mit dabei, während vom alles verändernden Album Here I Am (2012) Songs wie Thinking About Her, Manic Bloom und Devil In Me die Halle erzittern lassen. Durch die neuen Songs wie beispielsweise Love Is Taking Its Toll feiert Oli nicht nur seine bisherigen Höhepunkte, sondern zeigt auch eindrucksvoll, was wir in Zukunft von ihm erwarten können.

Tatsächlich ist Songs From The Road nur ein weiterer Höhepunkt, der Oli Brown ein weiteres erfolgreiches Jahr verspricht. Währenddessen macht dieser sich für einen aufregenden Sommer bereit: Neben seinen Shows als Support für die Gitarrenlegenden Joe Satriani und Johnny Winter spielt er außerdem noch auf verschiedenen Festivals und natürlich auf seiner eigenen Headline Tour. 

Tracklist

Track list
    
        CD/DVD
1.    Speechless
2.    Thinking About Her
3.    Manic Bloom
4.    Next Girl
5.    Mr Wilson
6.    Love Is Taking Its Toll
7.    Devil In Me
8.    You Can Only Blame Yourself
9.    Stone Cold

         Bonus tracks on DVD:
     Here I Am
     Evil Soul
     I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know
     Remedy

Zubehör

Produkt Hinweis Status Preis
Heads I Win, Tails You Lose Heads I Win, Tails You Lose
15,00 € *
Open Road Open Road
10,00 € *
Here I Am Here I Am
10,00 € *
* Preise inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand
Details zum Zubehör anzeigen

Kunden, die dieses Produkt gekauft haben, haben auch diese Produkte gekauft

* Preise inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand

Auch diese Kategorien durchsuchen: Oli Brown, Oli Brown