Magic Honey


Magic Honey

Product no.: RUF 1192
12.00


 

App

 

Release Date

08/2013

 

Release Notes

Most artists make albums. Cyril Neville makes gumbos. Served up in September 2013 on Ruf Records, Magic Honey finds the 64-year-old Southern icon on anarchic form, snatching inspiration from a kaleidoscope of sources and shaking up a sonic cocktail where anything goes. “I’m extremely proud of this record,” notes Cyril of his latest signature dish. “It’s a tasteful, well-cooked musical gumbo that I think will be pleasing to the palates of music lovers.”

Singer. Poet. Percussionist. Neville Brother, Meters legend, solo star and talisman of the South’s all-conquering new supergroup, Royal Southern Brotherhood. Just as Cyril Neville’s career path keeps you guessing, so Magic Honey defies expectations and breaks out of any pigeonhole you try to place around it. One foot may often be planted in the traditions of his beloved blues on these twelve new songs – take the raw emotion on Something’s Got A Hold On Me or the slow-burning Blues Is The Truth – but the other is striding out and kicking the rulebook into touch.

There’s the spring-heeled, funk-flavoured strut of Running Water, the snare-cracking groove of Invisible and the stinging title track (“My baby is a queen bee… magic honey dripping from her hive”). There’s the amped-up satirical sideswipe of Money and Oil (“Don’t matter how you feel, it’s all sell, sell, sell”) and the album’s most overtly rock-out moment, Working Man (“Got no time for living, ’cos I’m working all the time…”). By the time you reach the silver-tongued reggae lilt of Slow Motion and the irresistible dancefloor-filler that is Swamp Funk, you’ll be reminded that Cyril is a songwriter who combines a clear artistic vision with a wandering eye.

Magic Honey is the kind of genre-slipping statement that’s only possible when you’ve got a crack musical squad pulling together, and as Cyril began putting the heat under this gumbo at Studio In The Country in Bogalusa, Louisiana, he was flanked by plenty of capable cooks. On production, David Z lived up to his mighty reputation – earned alongside Prince, Buddy Guy, Etta James and more – creating an organic sound on Magic Honey that pulsed and breathed. “I waited a long time to work with David Z,” says Cyril of the partnership, “and I feel the wait was well worth it. I love how the record turned out and look forward to working with him again, soon.”

Out on the floor, meanwhile, a bedrock of first-call musicians locked into a musical telepathy that meant the LA sessions felt less like a dry box-ticking exercise and more like a group epiphany. “Making this record was a spiritual, musical event,” agrees Cyril. “The musicians and I approached it like it was an important gig we were playing. All the tracks are first takes. The atmosphere was just that electric. All the way live! And I was blessed with the best rhythm section for the occasion in ‘Mean’ Willie Green (drums), Cranston Clements (guitar), Carl Dufrene (bass) and Norman Caesar (keys).”

Along with a dash of Neville family DNA – courtesy of Gaynielle Neville and Omari Neville on soaring backup vocals – there’s also a sprinkle of celebrity stardust, with New Orleans veteran Allen Toussaint handling the keys on the cuckolded shuffle of Another Man, Dr. John on organ for Swamp Funk, ex-Bluesbreakers’ axeman Walter Trout boiling up Running Water and Cyril’s Royal Southern Brotherhood bandmate Mike Zito lending muscular riffing to Money and Oil and Working Man.      

It’s one hell of a guest-list, and only serves to underline the respect and pulling-power that Cyril Neville has amassed during his four-plus decades in the industry. Music legends don’t keep CVs, but if they did, Cyril’s would land with a thump. Born in late-’40s New Orleans, Louisiana, as the youngest of the four siblings who would soon define that city’s R&B sound as The Neville Brothers, Cyril absorbed his parents’ vinyl collection and found his own voice when he turned professional at 19. His first gig was with Art Neville and the Neville Sounds (alongside elder brothers Art and Aaron), and though his subsequent splinter-group Soul Machine never quite achieved the heights it was due, Cyril was on fire, pricking up ears with 1970’s debut solo single, Gossip, then arriving in the lineup of Art’s funk outfit, The Meters.

By that point, The Meters were already flying off the back of 1969’s smash-hit Cissy Strut. Now, Cyril brought congas and vocals to timeless albums including 1972’s Cabbage Alley and 1975’s Fire On The Bayou, and when unabashed über-fan Mick Jagger invited The Meters to open up the Rolling Stones’ US stadium tour of 1974, Art’s suggestion that Cyril take lead vocals was vindicated by a series of roof-raising performances.

The Meters were too special to last, but the lineup’s dissolution in 1976 cleared the path for the bloodline to regroup as The Neville Brothers and start a four-decade hot-streak – from 1976’s Wild Tchoupitoulas, via 1989’s Grammy-winning Yellow Moon, to 2004’s Walkin’ In The Shadows Of Life – that continues to this day. Suffice to say, when critics refer to this band as New Orleans’ first family of funk, it’s not hot air or hyperbole, but a statement of fact.

Lesser artists might be content to sit back and watch the royalties roll in. Cyril, by contrast, remains creatively insatiable. He not only maintains a thrilling solo career that’s given us classics like 1994’s The Fire This Time and 2000’s New Orleans Cookin’, but has also collaborated with icons including Bob Dylan, Bono and Willie Nelson, toured the world with funk act Galactic, led his offshoot band Tribe 13, founded his own record label Endangered Species and made TV appearances on Jimmy Kimmel Live! and HBO’s Treme.

An artist with a conscience, Cyril has also spread good karma, both through the New Orleans Musicians Organized (NOMO) project that helps fledgling bands navigate the shark-infested waters of the rock industry, and alongside Tab Benoit on the 2005 Voice of the Wetlands Allstars tour that raised the profile of the Louisiana Gulf Coast’s environmental plight.

“Oh, Cyril is quite the character,” says Mike Zito of his bandmate’s sprawling backstory. “I mean, he’s the guy. He’s got all the stories. He’s been around the world a million times, played with everybody and their brother. He’s toured with the Rolling Stones, he’s friends with Keith Richards, he’s written songs with Bono. He’s done everything anybody could ever do…”

Not quite. In September 2013, with no sign of his stride slowing down, Cyril Neville puts yet another cherry on top of his astonishing career with Magic Honey. It’s the gumbo you’ve been waiting for.

Tracklist

1. Magic Honey

2. Swamp Funk

3. Somethings's Got A Hold On Me

4. Another Man

5. Still Going Down Today

6. You Can Run But You Can't Hide

7. Invisible

8. Blues Is The Truth

9. Running Water

10. Working Man

11. Money And Oil

12. Slow Motion

Accessories

Product Note Status Price
heartsoulblood heartsoulblood
12.00 €
Royal Southern Brotherhood Royal Southern Brotherhood
17.00 €
Songs From The Road - Live CD & DVD Songs From The Road - Live CD & DVD
19.00 €
The Royal Gospel The Royal Gospel
17.00 €
Display accessory details

Customers who bought this product also bought

Turquoise
12.00
White Sugar
17.00
Underground
7.00

Browse this category: Cyril Neville

Magic Honey


Magic Honey

Artikel-Nr.: RUF 1192
10,00
Preis inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand


Veröffentlichungsdatum

08/2013

Release Notes

Die meisten Künstler machen Alben. Cyril Neville macht Gumbos. Serviert im August 2013 durch Ruf Records zeigt Magic Honey die 64 Jahre alte Südstaatenikone in Bestform – aus zahlreichen Quellen bezieht er seine Inspiration und mischt sie zu einem akustischen Cocktail zusammen. „Ich bin enorm stolz auf diese Platte“, so Cyril über seine neue „Spezialität des Hauses“. „Es ist ein geschmackvolles, gut zubereitetes musikalisches Gumbo, das den Gaumen der Musikliebhaber hoffentlich munden wird.“
Sänger. Poet. Schlagzeuger. Neville Brother, Meters-Legende, Solokünstler und Talisman der neuen, alles erobernden Südstaaten-Supergruppe Royal Southern Brotherhood. Genauso wie Cyril Nevilles Karriereweg immer wieder für Überraschungen sorgte, so übertrifft auch Magic Honey alle Erwartungen und bricht aus jeder Schublade aus, in die es gezwängt werden soll. Mit einem Fuß zwar immer in der Tradition des Blues‘– wie etwa die rohen Emotionen bei Something’s Got A Hold Of Me oder das langsame Blues Is The Truth – doch mit dem anderen macht er große Schritte und befördert jegliches Regelwerk ins Abseits.
Da gibt es das gewaltige, mit Funk gewürzte Stück Running Water, den großartigen Groove von Invisible und natürlich den hervorstechenden Titeltrack („My baby is a queen bee…magic honey dripping from her hive“). Es gibt den heißen, satirischen Seitenhieb von Money And Oil („Don‘t matter how you feel, it’s all sell, sell, sell“) und den offenkundigsten Abrock-Moment des Albums Working Man (Got no time for living, ‘cos I’m working all the time…). Zu dem Zeitpunkt, an dem man zu der eloquenten Reggaemelodie von Slow Motion  und dem unwiderstehlichen Dancefloorfiller Swamp Funk kommt, wird man daran erinnert, dass Cyril ein Songwriter ist, der eine klare, künstlerische Vision hat.
Magic Honey ist ein genreübergreifendes Album, das nur mit erstklassiger musikalischer Unterstützung verwirklicht werden konnte. Und als Cyril begann seinem Gumbo im Studio In The Country in Bogalusa, Louisiana,  Feuer zu geben, hatte er ausreichend davon: David Z ist als Produzent seinem Ruf (er arbeitete bereits mit Prince, Buddy Guy, Etta James) absolut gerecht geworden- bei Magic Honey schaffte er es, einen pulsierenden, atmenden Sound zu kreieren. „Ich habe lange gewartet, um mit David Z arbeiten zu können“, sagt Cyril, „und es war es absolut wert zu warten. Ich liebe es, wie sich die Platte entwickelt hat und freue mich darauf, bald wieder mit ihm arbeiten zu können.“
Vor der Tür tauchte eine Riege erstklassiger Musiker inzwischen in eine Art musikalischer Telepathie ein – und dadurch fühlten sich die LA Sessions weniger wie eine trockene Pflichtübung als viel mehr wie eine gemeinsame Offenbarung an.  „Die Aufnahme kam einem spirituellen Musikereignis gleich“, stimmt Cyril zu. „Wir gingen es so an, als würden wir ein wirklich wichtiges Konzert geben. Alle Songs sind die Erstaufnahmen. Die Atmosphäre war so elektrisierend. Einfach alles live! Und ich hatte das Glück, die beste Rhythmusgruppe überhaupt für die Aufnahme zu haben: Mean Willie Green (Schlagzeug), Cranston Clements (Gitarre), Carl Dufrene (Bass) und Norman Caesar (Keyboard).“
Zusammen mit der Energie der Neville-Familie – Gaynielle und Omari Neville für die Background vocals – gibt es zudem noch einen Hauch Staratmosphäre mit New Orleans-Veteran Allen Toussaint am Keyboard bei Another Man, Dr. John an der Orgel bei Swamp Funk, dem Ex-Bluesbreaker Walter Trout bei Running Water und Cyrils Royal Southern Brotherhood-Kollege Mike Zito bei Money and Oil und Working Man.
Es ist eine fantastische Gästeliste, die nur noch einmal unterstreicht, wie viel Respekt sich Cyril Neville in seinen über vierzig Jahren im Musikgeschäft verdient hat.
Musiklegenden schreiben zwar keine Lebensläufe, aber wenn doch, so würde Cyrils definitiv einschlagen. In den späten 40ern in New Orleans, Louisiana, geboren, wuchs er als jüngstes von vier Geschwistern auf, die schon bald den R&B-Sound der Stadt als die Neville Brothers bestimmen würden. Cyril sog die Songs von der Vinylsammlung seiner Eltern in sich auf und begann schließlich im Alter von 19 Jahren selbst als Sänger aufzutreten. Sein erster Gig war zusammen mit Art Neville & The Neville Sounds (zusammen mit seinen Brüdern Art und Aaron). Und obwohl seine spätere Gruppe Soul Machine nie einen Durchbruch feiern konnte, schaffte er es mit seiner 1970 erschienenen Debutsingle Gossip auf sich aufmerksam zu machen, um anschließend in Arts Funk-Band The Meters mitzumischen.
Zu diesem Zeitpunkt feierten The Meters bereits den Erfolg ihres 1969er Smashhits Cissy Strut. Nun, da Cyril Congas und seine Stimme zu zeitlosen Alben wie Cabbage Alley (1972) und Fire On The Bayou (1975) beisteuerte und der unerschrockene Fan Mick Jagger die Band einlud, die 1974er US-Stadientour der Rolling Stones zu eröffnen, war Arts Vorschlag gerechtfertigt, dass Cyril die Rolle des Leadsängers übernehmen sollte. Was folgte, war eine Reihe atemberaubender Performances.
The Meters waren zu speziell, als dass sie dauerhaft Bestand hätten haben können, doch ihre Auflösung 1976 machte den Weg frei für die Neugründung der Brüder als The Neville Brothers. Es folgte eine vier Jahrzehnte währende Erfolgsserie, die noch immer andauert: von Wild Tchoupitoulas (1976) über das mit einem Grammy ausgezeichnete Yellow Moon (1989) bis zum Walkin‘ In The Shadows Of Life (2004). Wenn also behauptet wird, dass diese Band New Orleans erste Funk-Familie sei, dann ist das keine heiße Luft oder Übertreibung sondern ein Fakt.   
Viele Künstler würden sich einfach zurücklehnen und zuschauen, wie die Tantiemen ins Haus flattern. Cyril hingegen bleibt unersättlich, was seine Kreativität anbelangt. Er führt nicht nur seine aufregende Solokarriere fort, die uns Hits wie The Fire This Time (1994) und New Orleans Cookin‘ (2000) bescherte, sondern arbeitete darüber hinaus auch mit Ikonen wie etwa Bob Dylan, Bono und Willie Nelson, tourte weltweit mit der Funkband Galactic, führte seine „Zweitband“ Tribe 13, gründete sein eigenes Record Label Endangered Species und absolvierte Fernsehauftritte bei Jimmy Kimmel Live! und HBOs Treme.  
Als ein Künstler mit Gewissen engagierte sich Cyril zudem in dem Projekt New Orleans Musicians Organized (NOMO), das jungen Bands half, durch das haiverseuchte Gewässer der Rockindustrie zukommen. Neben Tab Benoit war er außerdem Teil der 2005 Voice of the Wetlands Allstars Tour, die auf die Notlage der Umwelt an Louisianas Golfküste hinweisen sollte.
„Oh, Cyril ist wirklich eine Persönlichkeit“, sagt Mike Zito über die beeindruckende Vorgeschichte seines Bandkollegen. „Ich meine, er ist der Typ. Er hat all die Geschichten. Er ist schon eine Million Mal um die Welt gereist, hat mit Gott und der Welt schon gespielt. Er war auf Tour mit den Rolling Stones, ist mit Keith Richards befreundet und hat Songs mit Bono geschrieben. Er hat alles gemacht, was jemals irgendjemand machen könnte…“
Noch nicht ganz. Im August 2013, ohne ein Anzeichen in seinen Sechzigern einen Gang runterschalten zu wollen, setzt er seiner erstaunlichen Karriere mit Magic Honey noch ein Sahnehäubchen auf. Das ist ein Gumbo, auf das wir gewartet haben.

Tracklist

1. Magic Honey

2. Swamp Funk

3. Somethings's Got A Hold On Me

4. Another Man

5. Still Going Down Today

6. You Can Run But You Can't Hide

7. Invisible

8. Blues Is The Truth

9. Running Water

10. Working Man

11. Money And Oil

12. Slow Motion

Zubehör

Produkt Hinweis Status Preis
heartsoulblood heartsoulblood
10,00 € *
Royal Southern Brotherhood Royal Southern Brotherhood
15,00 € *
Songs From The Road (CD + DVD Set) Songs From The Road (CD + DVD Set)
17,00 € *
The Royal Gospel The Royal Gospel
15,00 € *
* Preise inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand
Details zum Zubehör anzeigen

Kunden, die dieses Produkt gekauft haben, haben auch diese Produkte gekauft

Ragged & Dirty
15,00 € *
Turquoise
10,00 € *
Diamonds In The Dirt
15,00 € *
* Preise inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand

Diese Kategorie durchsuchen: Cyril Neville