Fire In The Mind

Product no.: RUF 1183
7.00


 

Release date: October 2012

Ruf Records is proud to announce the October release of Bob Brozman’s latest blues CD, FIRE IN THE MIND.  Recorded this year in California, this collection of new original songs offers up driving rhythms and compelling exotic guitar sounds, propelling the listener to new places in the limitless world of the blues.

In Bob’s words…

FIRE IN THE MIND is a collection of mood stories, told in rhythm and timbre.  It goes further and deeper than my older CDs.  There is passionate playing on a variety of new and old stringed instruments, including instruments not normally used for blues.  The compositions are informed and inspired by a rhythmic dialog between myself and Jim Norris on drums – our lively interaction was an integral part of this recording.  I feel that the vocals on this album span a wider range of timbre and emotion than those in my previous work, and some of these melodies have been floating through my mind for a long time.

Tradition is a moving object, as musicians absorb sounds through a lifetime of listening, and create new sounds with their bare feelings.  My musical ancestors, from Charley Patton to Tau Moe and Sol Hoopii, not only learned from their ancestors; they also absorbed ideas from other kinds of music outside their cultures, thereby pushing their traditions forward.  In my world travels, I have expanded this concept geographically to include music from faraway places and music far from the traditional Delta blues that first inspired me.  These new blues are meant to inspire you.  Music for me is something constantly full of feeling, something a person never finishes learning how to express. Taking risk is paramount.

Dedicated to musicians and music lovers everywhere, with great sincerity,

Bob Brozman

 

 

Track List

01 Breathing The Blues

02 Cannibal Stomp

03 American House Fire Blues

04 Rhythm Is The Thing

05 Strange Mind Blues

06 Blue Mars Over Sorrento

07 Bamn Kalou Bamn

08 Ow! My Uke’s On Fire

09 Nightmares And Dreams

10 Memory Blues

11 Lonesome Blues

Accessories

Product Note Status Price
Rich Man's War Rich Man's War
7.00 €
Display accessory details

Customers who bought this product also bought

Summertime Blues
7.00
Blues Reflex
12.00
Renegade
7.00

Browse these categories as well: Bob Brozman, Sale

Fire In The Mind


Fire In The Mind

Artikel-Nr.: RUF 1183
5,00
Preis inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand


Ruf Records freut sich, die Veröffentlichung der neuen Bob Brozman-CD „Fire In The Mind“ für Oktober ankündigen zu dürfen. In Kalifornien in diesem Jahr aufgenommen, bietet dieses neue Album exotischen Gitarrensound und mitreißende Rhythmen, die die Musikfans zu neuen Sphären in der endlosen Welt des Blues bringt.

 

In Bobs Worten:

 

Fire In The Mind“ ist eine Sammlung mit Geschichten, die aus einer bestimmten Stimmung heraus entstanden sind, erzählt durch Rhythmus und Timbre. Sie geht weiter und tiefer als meine bisherigen CDs und besteht aus einigen intensiven Parts mit neuen und alten Instrumenten, die teilweise für Bluesmusik eher untypisch sind. Durch den rhythmischen Dialog zwischen Jim Norris an den Drums und mir sind die Stücke entstanden - unsere lebhafte Interaktion war ein wesentlicher Teil dieser Aufnahme. Ich finde, dass die Vocals dieses Albums einen weiteren Bogen an Timbre und Emotionen überspannen, als in meinen früheren Werken; und manche dieser Melodien schwirrten schon lange in meinem Kopf herum.

Tradition ist etwas sehr Bewegendes. Musiker nehmen ihr ganzes Leben über Klänge auf und kreieren dann neue Sounds durch ihre bloßen Gefühle. Meine musikalischen Vorfahren, von Charly Patton bis Tau Moe und Sol Hoopi, haben nicht nur von ihren Vorfahren gelernt; sie haben auch Ideen aus anderen Musikstilen entwickelt, die eigentlich nicht zu ihrer Kultur gehörten, und haben dabei ihre Traditionen erweitert. Auf meinen Weltreisen habe ich dieses Konzept geografisch so weit ausgedehnt, dass es Musik aus weit entfernten Gegenden beinhaltet, die sich sehr von den Traditionen des Deltablues, der mich zuerst inspirierte, unterscheidet. Dieser neue Blues soll euch inspirieren. Für mich ist Musik etwas, das immer voller Emotionen ist. Etwas, bei dem ein Mensch nie auslernt, wie er sich ausdrücken kann.

 

Gewidmet allen Musikern und Musikliebhabern überall, in aller Aufrichtigkeit,

 

Bob Brozman

Track List

01 Breathing The Blues

02 Cannibal Stomp

03 American House Fire Blues

04 Rhythm Is The Thing

05 Strange Mind Blues

06 Blue Mars Over Sorrento

07 Bamn Kalou Bamn

08 Ow! My Uke’s On Fire

09 Nightmares And Dreams

10 Memory Blues

11 Lonesome Blues

Zubehör

Produkt Hinweis Status Preis
Post-Industrial Blues Post-Industrial Blues
15,00 € *
Rich Man's War Rich Man's War
5,00 € *
* Preise inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand
Details zum Zubehör anzeigen

Kunden, die dieses Produkt gekauft haben, haben auch diese Produkte gekauft

Post-Industrial Blues
15,00 € *
Bigtown Playboy
15,00 € *
Jimmy Reed Highway
10,00 € *
Summertime Blues
5,00 € *
* Preise inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand

Diese Kategorie durchsuchen: Bob Brozman